The Sunday Salon: 7/10/11

Originally, I was not going to bother with a Sunday Salon post this morning (although since I slept so late, I guess this is now what most people consider afternoon).  I just didn’t feel like I had much to say.  But then I grabbed some Starbucks, and now, with coffee in hand, I am dying to tell you about my newest book.

I started it last night and at first, I wasn’t sure I was going to like it.  I’ll be honest with you.  I liked Push well enough (same with the movie), but I didn’t love it. Was it a case of the hype overpowering the book?  Maybe.  I’ll never know.  I just remember finishing it and not feeling wowed like I expected.  So when I found out TLC was touring The Kid, I thought Why not? But really, I wasn’t sure if I would like it.

The story picks with Precious’s son at 9 years old, Abdul, at her funeral.  And for the first 30 pages or so, I was worried.  I thought, This book is just not for me.  In all honesty, were it not for the fact that I have a blog tour due for this book, I may have but the book aside for the time being.  I am so glad I didn’t.  I didn’t even expect to read much at all last night, but I started plowing through that sucker and got about halfway through before I finally passed out from exhaustion.

I guess this was a valuable lesson to me to stick with a book for a decent amount of time before you throw in the towel.  Since I started blogging, I have been a lot more cavalier about tossing a book if it’s not doing it for me right away.

As for my plans today, I don’t think I will have much time delegated towards reading.  I DID, however, get a chance to pick up some Crackle nail polish, which I have been lusting after for some time.  So my first plan of order is to paint my nails! Hopefully they’ll look like this in no time–

Does anyone have exciting plans for today?

5 Responses

  1. Some of the “girls” I work with have been trying the crackle nail polish and it sure doesn’t look like this. This pic is cool; theirs looked more like they had painted two different colors on and then some had chipped off. Hope yours turns out like this!

  2. I’m reading The Kid right now and have a similar feeling of being underwhelmed. I have made it to part two, but so far its still slow going. Hopefully I will get to the point you made it too.

  3. I would be interested in this book if not to see how things pan out after the last book ended. I cant wait to heart your review!

  4. Got some cute nail polishes yesterday as surprise gift for my wife. (“,)

  5. […] wrote a recent Sunday Salon book about how much I loved The Kid as I was reading it. I found the book very engrossing, much […]

Leave a Reply

