Book Review: To Full Term

To Full Term: A Mother’s Triumph over Miscarriage

Darci Klein

Penguin Group

288 pages

Darci Klein has already birthed one live child and suffered three miscarriages, including the loss of twins at about 20 weeks gestation when she discovers that she is pregnant again.  Instead of feeling elation, she is full of dread at the roller coaster ride she knows she’s about to embark on.  Pregnancy is much different when you have suffered a loss, and the fear is compounded by the medical community, which fails to treat miscarriage as anything other than unfortunate.  Klein demands that her doctors treat her concerns seriously, and had she not been so adamant about her care, she likely would have suffered yet another loss.

Klein is put on bed rest from pretty much the beginning of her pregnancy, and is forced to inject herself with drugs to try to save her baby.  Despite all her precautions, her situation seemed dire numerous times, and she was unsure if this baby would suffer the fate of most of her others.

I read this book after suffering two miscarriages myself within the past two months.  I am still unsure of whether reading To Full Term was a good idea or a bad idea. On the one hand, Klein made it a point to hold the medical community culpable for how miscarriage is usually brushed off as being normal, or the fact that little testing is done and many miscarriages are thought to be the result of genetic defect, when in reality a good portion of miscarriages are due to other causes.  So in that sense, I feel more educated if, God forbid, I should suffer another miscarriage.  I will have a better grasp of what questions to ask and what tests to demand, instead of flying blind which has been my mode in the past.

On the other hand, Klein’s situation seems to be more dire than the typical pregnancy, and I think it could inspire fear where none is warranted.  While there was hope in To Full Term, and Klein gave birth to a healthy baby, it was so touch and go throughout her entire pregnancy that it made me nervous about ever getting pregnant again.  Her determination and hope resonated with me though despite how difficult her situation was.

Overall, I am glad I read To Full Term, because the questions it answered outweighed the fear it instilled.

Other Reviews:

None that I could find.

I purchased this book used from Amazon Marketplace.

4 Responses

  1. My deepest condolences to you on the losses of your babies. I’m not sure if I could have read this one so soon … if at all. 😦

  2. I hope the book helps more than it hurts Stephanie and that the outcome you want comes to you soon!

  3. Thanks you two. I really appreciate your comments.

  4. I’m sorry to see that you’ve suffered those miscarriages. So many doctors are men and I don’t think they hurt the same way after a loss like that, so they tend to brush it off. I’m not sure this book is for me, but I hope it helped you some.

Leave a Reply

