The Sunday Salon; 5/8/2011

I can’t believe it is Sunday already–the week has flown by.  It’s hard to believe that a week from now I will be in Florida.  I am getting my reading list together.  So far, I have purchased two books for my trip; Affinity, by Sarah Waters and The Truth-teller’s Lie, by Sophie Hannah.  I really want to buy Housekeeping vs The Dirt and Shakespeare Wrote for Money, both by Nick Hornby. Plus, I plan on taking my Kindle, so I can pretty much download and read anything. What do you think of my selection so far?

This week I finished one book and read another.

The Beautiful Cigar Girl was part biography of Edgar Allan Poe and part true crime about the murder of a young girl named Mary Rogers, who ended up influencing Poe as far as his writing was concerned. I found it very engrossing and educational but it was a bit slow, as books of that nature usually tend to be.

What was she Thinking? Notes on a Scandal, by Zoe Heller is about a woman who begins a sexual relationship with one of her 15 year old students.  It was wonderful. I could.not.put.it.down.  Definitely one of the best books I have read this year.

I am now reading When Will There be Good News?, by Kate Atkinson.  It is my first book by her and I have to admit, I contemplated putting it down for the first 50-60 pages.  It just seemed really juvenile and I couldn’t get into any of the characters, but now it has started picking up and I think I am going to end up enjoying it.

Lastly, happy Mother’s Day to all you moms out there! I received my first Mother’s Day gift ever on Friday.  My stepdaughter made me a little potted plant and I swear, I felt so honored that she thought to make me something.  Being a stepmom can be tough, but also very rewarding, and I feel lucky to have Ally in my life.

I hope everyone has a wonderful day and week!

8 Responses

  1. yay! So happy to hear your reaction to Notes on a Scandal! That was one of my favorites last year too.

  2. Okay, now I’m all excited to read your review of Notes on a Scandal. And I don’t think you can go wrong with Sarah Waters, so good choice for the trip!

  3. I’m looking forward to reading your review of Notes on a Scandal as well. It is definitely hard to be a stepmother at times so congrats on doing a good job at it. I hope you have a wonderful vacation and get lots of great reading time in as well 🙂

  4. Oh, those Hornby books are amazing – good choices! Have a wonderful Sunday!

  5. What a lovely and thoughtful gift! Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  6. The Beautiful Cigar Girl sounds really interesting. I just finished a fiction about Poe, The Poe Shadow, and as much as I love Poe I just couldn’t get into it. I may need to look into the nonfiction.

    Happy mother’s day!

  7. I hadn’t heard of Beautiful Cigar Girl, but it definitely sounds interesting, something both my Poe-loving son and I would enjoy. That was very sweet of Ally; I think being a great step-mom is probably more difficult than being a great mom.

  8. Ahhh…. how sweet with the Mothers day gift! Enjoy your books!

Leave a Reply

