Book Review: The Woman in Cabin 10

thy3722xrp

The Woman in Cabin 10

Ruth Ware

Gallery/Scout Press

352 pages

Imagine you’re on a cruise ship and you’ve just witnessed a woman get shoved overboard in the middle of the night. You raise the alarm but no one believes you. You know what you saw . . . but did you really see it?
Lo is an up and coming writer for a travel magazine and she has been granted a once in a lifetime opportunity to travel on the maiden voyage of a luxury liner. Lo boards the ship already with a frazzled frame of mind after being the victim of a home invasion just day earlier. Her emotions and anxiety only ramp up when she witnesses a woman being thrown over the railing of the neighboring cabin. She quickly calls for help, but when ship’s security arrives at her cabin minutes later, she is informed that the cabin next door has been vacant during the trip.
The Woman in Cabin 10 continues on with Lo convinced that she saw what she saw, while security on the boat constantly discredits her. I loved this book mostly because it employed one of my favorite literary devices: the unreliable narrator. As the book continued on, I had no idea what to think of Lo. She was so sure of everything and never wavered from her stance. And yet, I couldn’t believe her. The evidence against her was strong and I was in the camp of “she’s over stressed/over tired and just imagining things.” For the sake of the story, I won’t reveal whether I was right or not!
I chose this as my BOTM pick for August and I am so glad I did! It was the perfect summer mystery to read by the pool, and the second half especially had me completely engaged. I did find the beginning to drag just a bit but I absolutely thought it was worth it, and the cruise ship setting worked well.
Now I need to know, should I read Ruth Ware’s first book?
3 Responses

  1. Lola what an amazing review. I really love the sound of this book, it’s griping from the moment you tell is about the woman being ‘shoved overboard’. I want to know more about the woman, and if it did really happen, why it happened to her.

    I really would love to read the book. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

