Literary Blog Hop, Nov 18-21

The Literary Blog Hop is a weekly meme hosted by The Blue Bookcase.

Is there such a thing as literary non-fiction? If so, how do you define it? Examples?

Not only do I think that non fiction can be literary–that is generally the only time I actually enjoy non fiction.  For the most part, I want my non fiction to read like a good novel.  The following books are non fiction at it’s best, and I think that their success is due mostly to the way the book is written and not the subject matter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What do you think?  What are some of your favorite non fiction books?

10 Responses

  1. Columbine was the first book that popped into my head when I read that question, but all of the books you chose are perfect.

  2. I honestly don’t think I could tell the difference between literary and nonliterary nonfiction! I just don’t read enough of it to know.

  3. Midnight and Henrietta Lacks were both mentioned in my post. Columbine is on my wish list… I’ve heard the audio version is excellent, too.

  4. Okay, I’ve been toying with the idea of reading Midnight ever since I saw a review post a few weeks back. Well, if I’m honest, I’ve been thinking about it since I bought the book like ten freaking years ago. For some reason, I just never picked it up. Now I’ve seen it mentioned like five times this month! The gods are speaking….

  5. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil is one of my favorites. Savannah, GA was a much better trip with having read it right before visiting. Great choices, and I do need to pick up the Henrietta Lacks book, too. Here’s my Literary view…: Coffee and a Book Chick — Literary Blog Hop…

  6. HeLa is my favorite book of the year. I enjoyed reading Columbine too. My friend let me borrow her Garden of Good and Evil, so will be reading that soon.

    I enjoy Mary Roach’s books (I’d read Stiff and Bonk) – while they quite read like fiction, more like amusing facts, but she made them fun to read. I kept quoting passages to my husband!

  7. I have only read Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil of the books you list here and I loved it. I don’t generally read non-fic, but if more books were written like Midnight, I certainly would. I agree that the best non-fiction is that which reads like a novel!

  8. I read Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil a number of years ago and really liked it and agree that it reached “literary” non fiction. I will put Columbine and Henrietta Lacks onto my TBR for 2011.

  9. I never finished Midnight in The Garden of Good and Evil, somehow I can’t get past the midpoint. One of my favorite nonfiction books would be Murakami’s Underground, a fascinating story of the gas attacks on Tokyo about ten years ago.

  10. Midnight in The Garden of Good and Evil is a fav of mind!!

Leave a Reply

