The Sunday Salon: 11/21/2010

Happy Sunday all!  I literally just woke up–I haven’t even had my obligatory cup of coffee yet! So excuse me if this post is a bit fuzzy.

While I typically love Sundays, if only because it’s the weekend, there is always that dread of returning to work on Monday that tends to cast a pall over the day.  Not so much today though, since it is only a three day work week! The anticipation of Thanksgiving and a four day weekend is making the rest of the week seem like a piece of cake.  Although I do admit the prospect of working at Lush at 6am on Black Friday is a little bit daunting.  I’ve never worked in retail before, so this Black Friday will be my first!  Anyone have any horror stories to share with me?

Ok, so on to my reading from this past week.  I finished What Alice Knew, by Paula Marantz Cohen.  It was interesting to read it only a few weeks after I finished The Dracula Dossier, as both books featured Jack the Ripper but the suspects and motives were completely different.  I then read Dangerous Neighbors, by Beth Kephart.  I have been wanting to read Kephart for awhile now but I was not able to make a connection with this book, and for that reason it fell a bit flat for me.

I am now reading Annie on my Mind, by Nancy Garden.  I only started it last night, so I am not far in yet, but I am getting a sense of deja vu, like I have already read the book before.  Don’t you hate when that happens?  I decided to keep reading, because enough of the book, so far, is new to me.  We’ll see how much, if any of the book, continues to be familiar to me.  I don’t remember reading it, as much as I wrack my brain, so I am thinking maybe I picked it up before but only read a bit of it before putting it down and moving on to something else.  Who knows!

Once again, I am going to be having another Sunday where I get little to no chance to read.  While I am happy I got to sleep in, I now have to get my butt in gear, because I have a busy day ahead of me! I hope the rest of you get more reading time in then I will!

7 Responses

  1. I worked retail on Black Friday one time and it was exhausting, but the time flew by. Everyone was nice and patient so I don’t really have any horror stories.

  2. I avoid Black Friday, so no horror stories from me. Good luck at Lush – it’s one of my daughter’s favorites.

  3. Hmm, maybe Annie On My Mind seems so familiar because other authors have used similar plots after it was published?

  4. lack Friday does sound daunting. i wonder if you will have your own stories to share. I never shop then.

  5. I can’t even imagine what it would be like to work in retail on black Friday. Good luck! I hope everyone is kind to you.

  6. It amazes me how Sunday is actually probably the slowest reading day of the month for me. How does that happen? 🙂

  7. I’ll be sure to be extra nice to one of the clerks I see on Black Friday and hope that someone will do the same for you! My mom, sisters and I always go out together and we really have found that most people are surprisingly friendly on those days. Hope they’re the only kind you have to help.

Leave a Reply

