Book Review: The Little Giant of Aberdeen County

The Little Giant of Aberdeen County

Tiffany Baker

Grand Central Publishing

368 pages

Truly is an abnormally large person.  Even before she was born, her size was the topic of conversation, with the issue culminating in her mother’s death during childbirth.  From that point on, the odds are stacked against Truly.  She is unwanted by almost everyone, not to mention the fact that she is constantly in the shadow of her gorgeous and popular sister Serena Jane.

The Little Giant of Aberdeen County spans decades.  Throughout Truly’s schooling and continuing on throughout her adult life, Truly is an outcast.  She has only a few close friends–one being Amelia, the mute girl that grows up as a sister to Truly.  Their friendship is as close as can be, which plays a huge role towards the end of the book.  In fact, there are certain choices Amelia makes during the course of the book that cause major ramifications for both women and that was what struck me the most about this book.

Serena Jane was another interesting factor in Little Giant.  She grew up as the popular girl with her peers fawning over her constantly.  Her life takes a wrong turn though when she loses her virginity and becomes pregnant.  The father of the child is Robert (Bob Bob) Morgan IV and he and Serena Jane get married out of high school and lead what appears to be a “normal” life.  What Serena Jane does when their son is just a few years old is another circumstance in the book that gave me pause.  As with Amelia’s situation, I could empathize and sympathize despite the reprehensible behavior both women exhibited. 

Did I like this book?  I’m still not sure, to be honest.  Obviously there was a lot for me to reflect upon, which is great, but I thought Little Giant was slow at times and I don’t think I ever got fully involved.  Maybe my problem was that I was unable to connect with Truly.  A lot of times I didn’t understand her actions and it left me frustrated.  I have been wanting to read this book practically since it was releasecd, so I am glad I read it but I’m not bowled over by any means.

This book counts towards The Debutante Ball challenge.

Other Reviews:

The Book Lady’s Blog

Booking Mama

BermudaOnion’s Weblog

Caribous Mom

Devourer of Books

5 Minutes for Books

This book was provided to me by the publisher for review purposes.

4 Responses

  1. I think I felt about the same way you did – I was expecting to love this book and I just liked it. I had read such wonderful reviews that I think maybe my expectations were set too high. Thanks for linking to my review!

  2. I’ve been on the fence about reading this one for a very long time. I’m still not sure.

  3. I’ve not heard of this book, but unfortunately, can’t really say that the plot grabs be as such. The fact that you aren’t “bowled over” as such doesn’t help.

  4. Hmm–and there is still sits on my tbr pile and I’m going to just push it down a little deeper for the time being and hope to find the right frame of mind.

Leave a Reply

