Sunday Salon: Thankfully Reading

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  Mine was great–lots of good food and good company.

I had been so excited to sign up for the Thankfully Reading weekend, hosted by Jen, Jenn and Beth, because I thought I would have tons of time to read over the weekend.  I was kind of wrong, really.

Friday I spent the day at my boyfriend’s parent’s home and then baby-sat for my best friend’s two kids later on that night.  I managed to read one book that day–Tomorrow, When the War Began, by John Marden.  If you enjoy YA dystopic lit, this one is a good choice.  I loved it!

Yesterday my boyfriend and I went to cut down our Christmas tree with my family.  Then we had friends over.  I did manage to read My Darling, My Hamburger, by Paul Zindel, but only because it was a very quick read!

Today I will be reading A Separate Country, by Robert Hicks.  I have most of the day set aside for reading but I doubt I will be able to read the whole thing today.  We will see.  So far though, it has really caught my interest.

I also read The Jade Cat, by Suzanne Brogger this week.  The first portion of the book is phenomenal!  The rest of the book lagged a bit for me but still, it is a worthy read!

Have you been participating in Thankfully Reading weekend?  If so, how are you doing?

3 Responses

  1. I finished two books and an audio book! That makes me quite happy.

    Better than I’d anticipated….

    Good luck to you!

  2. I read two books this weekend even though I wasn’t participating! I’ll be interested to hear what you think of A Separate Country. I wasn’t a huge fan.

  3. Well, no Thankfully Reading weekend, but I did get some reading done. Am still listening to an audiobook, but getting frustrated by my ipod, the headphone jack of which is on the fritz. Thankfully, I have AppleCare, so I’ll be able to get a new/refurbished one! And I finished “Love Tag,” by Peter Shianna, with a family situations kind of theme, for lack of a better word. You know: pride, infideily, betrayal, plus love, and hope. Think of it as a modern-day “Ordinary People,” a book I enjoyed immensely lo those many years ago. My kids were home (well, the two at college — the youngest is at home all the time!) for the weekend, and we tried to spend time with them. Plus, the holiday is rearing its head. Must shop! Happy Monday everyone.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

