TLC Book Tour: The Shoemaker’s Wife

The Shoemaker’s Wife

Adriana Trigiani

Harper

496 pages

Enza and Ciro are both growing up in small villages in the Italian Alps.  Although tied by their homeland, Enza and Ciro have dramatically different childhoods.  Ciro and his brother had been abandoned at a convent by their mother after their father died in a coal mining accident in the states.  The boys are distraught without their mother but quickly become adapted to the lifestyle of the convent.  Meanwhile, Enza is the oldest daughter of a large family that is barely scraping by.  Both she and Ciro are forced to emigrate to the states due to uncontrollable circumstances.

Enza and Ciro had met shortly before they each emigrated, although they spent many years in the US without seeing one another, except for a few random run ins.  It is only in their mid twenties that the fates conspire and they come together.

The Shoemaker’s Wife follows the couple both before and after they get together and marry, and the difficulties of adjusting to life in another country is something they both must deal with throughout the entirety of the book.

Enza and Ciro are remarkable characters.  They have minor flaws, which only make them more realistic, but more importantly their tenacity enables them to succeed in a life that is full of hardships and disappointments.  I admired them both for the choices they made, although at times they made me shake my head in frustration as well, as despite their good qualities they were both overly stubborn as well!

I had never read anything by Trigiani before, nor had I any interest in doing so.  I can’t say what it is, but something about her books has always struck me as a amateurish.  I think it’s the covers, to be completely honest.  I to tend to judge books by their covers, and it is not out of the realm of possibility for me to write off a book completely solely on the cover.  The cover of The Shoemaker’s Wife is gorgeous, and once I read the synopsis I decided it was time to give into the masses and give Trigiani a chance. I am so glad I did! This book captivated me from the start and I was swept away by both the atmosphere as well as the love story between Ciro and Enza!

About Adriana Trigiani

Adriana Trigiani is an award-winning playwright, television writer, and documentary filmmaker. The author of the Big Stone Gap series; Very Valentine; Lucia, Lucia, The Queen of the Big Time, and Rococo, she has also written the bestselling memoir Don’t Sing at the Table as well as the young adult novels Viola in Reel Life and Viola in the Spotlight. Her books have been published in thirty-six countries, and she has written and will direct the big-screen version of her first novel, Big Stone Gap. She lives in New York City with her husband and daughter.

Visit Adriana at her website: www.adrianatrigiani.com, like her on Facebook, and follow her on Twitter.

Adriana’s Tour Stops

Monday, April 2nd: The Huffington Post

Tuesday, April 3rd: Book Journey

Wednesday, April 4th: Reading Lark

Thursday, April 5th: Life Is Short. Read Fast

Friday, April 6th: Amused By Books

Monday, April 9th: Literature and a Lens

Tuesday, April 10th: Book Dilettante

Wednesday, April 11th: Bibliosue

Thursday, April 12th: West Metro Mommy

Monday, April 16th: “That’s Swell!”

Tuesday, April 17th: Confessions of an Avid Reader

Wednesday, April 18th: Reviews by Lola

Monday, April 23rd: Peppermint PhD

Tuesday, April 24th: A Bookish Affair

Wednesday, April 25th: Knowing the Difference

Thursday, April 26th: Library of Clean Reads

Friday, April 27th: Books and Movies

Monday, April 30th: It’s a Crazy, Beautiful Life

Tuesday, May 1st: Walking With Nora

Wednesday, May 2nd: I’m Booking It

Thursday, May 3rd: The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader

12 Responses

  1. I am looking forward to reading this one!

  2. I’m so glad to read your comments because I have felt the same way about her books, but maybe since you found out your preconceptions were not true I would also!

  3. I have ordered this one from the library on audio, and am really excited about getting to it. I have read Trigaini before, and have really enjoyed her books. I am glad that you finally took a chance on her and also that you enjoyed the book! Great review today!

  4. I haven’t read this author yet and wasn’t sure I wanted to until I saw this book. Glad to know this one is a worthwhile read!

  5. I am so gald you enjoyed this one! You will have to read more by her now! The Viola books are really good… and the Brava books too!

  6. I haven’t read any of her books, but this one has really peaked my interests. I’m glad that you really enjoyed it.

  7. I want to read this! I was unsure of her as well, but my mom really enjoys her books, and when I finally gave in, I was glad I did. I’ve heard this is her best so far.

  8. […] Swell!”Tuesday, April 17th: Confessions of an Avid ReaderWednesday, April 18th: Reviews by LolaMonday, April 23rd: Peppermint PhDTuesday, April 24th: A Bookish AffairWednesday, April 25th: […]

  9. I need to give in to the peer pressure and read Trigiani – all I ever hear is how great her books are!

    Thanks for being on the tour.

  10. I’m so excited to be on this book tour too. I’m glad to hear you liked it.

  11. I’m a first time Trigiani reader as well but am already scoping out my next one…very interesting to see all the different recommendations…I had no idea Trigiani had such a body of work already! I too had been biased against her novels…thinking them more romance than anything. Boy, was I wrong!! So glad I gave The Shoemaker’s Wife a chance!!

  12. […] Wednesday, April 18th: Reviews by Lola […]

Leave a comment