Best Books of 2009

Happy New Year everyone.  Just a few hours to go 🙂

I feel like I am a little late to the game–everyone has been posting their best of 2009 lists for weeks now.  By now you should have realized what a procrastinator I am!  I have decided to just go through all the books I read this year and big out my absolute favorites.  No categories.  No specific number.  No rhyme or reason really.  So without further ado, here are my favorite reads of 2009.

The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins

The Help, Kathryn Stockett

My Sister, My Love, Joyce Carol Oates

The Elegance of the Hedgehog, Muriel Barbery

The Crimson Petal and the White, Michael Faber

Sacred Hearts, Sarah Dunant

The Plot Against America, Philip Roth

Belle de Jour, Joseph Kessel

Brideshead Revisited, Evelyn Waugh

Sea of Poppies, Amitav Ghosh

Confederacy of Dunces, John Kennedy Toole

Matrimony, Josh Henkin

American Wife, Curtis Sittenfeld

We Need to Talk About Kevin, Lionel Shriver

Her Fearful Symmetry, Audrey Niffenegger

The Knife of Never Letting Go, Patrick Ness

After, Amy Efaw

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, Alan Bradley

So there you go–I read 107 books this year and apparently have 18 favorites!  If I could only choose ONE book as my absolute favorite, it would be . . .

13 Responses

  1. I’m noticing Hunger Games and The Help on many lists. Read HG and loved it but haven’t read The Help yet. Have a great new year!

  2. I’m so glad After is on your list. That was an AMAZING book.

  3. I loved We Need to Talk About Kevin and The Help. I’m pleased that you enjoyed a Confederacy of Dunces. I hope to read it soon.

    Have a great 2010!

  4. The Help was on my list, too…the one I did last month. I think I left it out of the end of the year meme I did. Lists are so hard!

    Happy New Year!

  5. Well, having almost 20% of your books be ‘favorites’ isn’t a bad thing, is it?

  6. I read 87 books this year, and my list comprises of twenty! Like you, I have Plot Against America on my list. I was a big fan of We Need To Talk About Kevin, when I read it in 2005/2006, and there are a fair few books on that list which I have on my to-be-read. Hopefully, I’ll think the same of them when I get ’round to reading them.

    Hope you have another fantastic reading year in 2010.

  7. Great list! We only overlap with The Help, but many of your choices are being added to my list. Happy New Year!

  8. We Need To Talk About Kevin is one of those books that you get done with and can’t say “I liked it” because it’s not a “likable” book. But it certainly is a good book and well worth reading. So hard to read; I was angry through so much of it!

  9. You have a great list too! I read Confederacy of Dunces years ago and it certainly would have made my list if I had read it this year. Brideshead is one of my all-time favourite books.

  10. Happy New Year to you, and all the best in 2010!

    I didn’t make a “best of 2009” list, so you’re a step ahead of me (and you probably won’t be the last to post one)

  11. Great list! I read A Confederacy of Dunces years ago and really enjoyed it. I think I’m the only person who didn’t read The Help and The Hunger Games last year. Happy New Year!

  12. Happy New Year! Looks like you had a wonderful reading year. Confederacy of Dunces is fabulous isn’t it? Hope this year brings you lots of great reads.

  13. I loved a Sea of Poppies–it was probably my favorite thing that I read last year (it was my first Amitov Gosh book, and I went on the to read others, which were also quite good). I also love The Elegance of the Hedgehog, and like American Wife (wouldn’t make my top 20 for the year though). The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie was my first book of 2010, and I felt it was a very good start!

Leave a comment