Sunday Salon

Happy 2010 everyone!  I hope you all enjoyed your holiday.  Mine was quite anticlimactic!  Brian and I both fell asleep around 7:30pm and slept until 12:15!  When we woke up, Ally was asleep on the couch–poor thing!  I have no idea why we were both so exhausted but we completely missed the new year.

As for bookish news, I finished The Observations, by Jane Harris.  I also read A Certain Slant of Light, by Laura Whitcomb and Letter to my Daughter, by Maya Angelou.  All three were very different but all enjoyable in their own way.  I would recommend all three.

I must admit I am not really the type to make New Years resolutions.  I do have a few book related resolutions though, as follows.

-read Anna KareninaThus far I haven’t had the tenacity to pick this one up, due only to the sheer length of it.

-read 150 books this year.  In 2009, I read 108, but the beginning of ’09 was a little slow for me, so if I can keep up my current pace, I think 150 is doable.

-read more from my shelves.  Which, in turn, means don’t overdo it with the library!  My purchased books are completely neglected because if I am not reading a library book, I am reading a review book.  Hopefully I can remedy this problem in 2010.

I also plan on participating in Bloggiesta, which is January 8-10, 2010.  It is hosted by Mawbooks.

It falls perfectly, considering that, being the start of a new year, everyone is ready to make some changes and improvements.

Here are some suggestions for participating in Bloggiesta–the bolded are areas that I hope to work on.

  • Write reviews.
  • Write backup posts for a rainy day.
  • Write that great post idea from three months back.
  • Work on series posts.
  • Write guest posts.
  • Put out invitations for guest posts.
  • Conduct and edit author interviews.
  • Create template posts for your future reads (ie: title, images, linking, tags, etc,) so you can open up, write review and post without being bogged down with technicalities
  • Clean up your tags, archives, books reviewed list, etc.
  • Create a text file (or Google Doc) of cheat sheets (html codes, post url’s, etc)
  • Improve your blog template, clean up sidebars, add a favicon, install those plugins that you’ve been meaning to do.
  • Add or edit your about me page, review policy, disclosure policy, privacy policy, create landing pages (for example – an about me for Twitter readers page) or any other pages you might have.
  • Any bloggy type housekeeping that you’ve been neglecting.
  • Clean up and update your challenge lists. Link up your posts with hosts.
  • Make sure all of your social network profiles are up to date. Brand yourself through those profiles with color scheme, images, etc.
  • Go get a gravatar.
  • Visit the Blogging Tips group on the Book Blogs Ning and find ways to improve your blog.
  • Work on any specialized projects that you may have going.
  • Clean out and organize your feed reader and blog subscriptions.
  • Create an elevator pitch.
  • Make business cards.
  • Find a blogging buddy.

Do you plan on participating in Bloggiesta?  What are your New Years resolutions?

3 Responses

  1. I will definitely be participating in Bloggiesta. I need to clean up my blog. The hardest thing is waiting until next weekend!

  2. I’ll be Bloggiesta’ing. I had a fabulous time during the first incarnation and fully expect the same to be true this round. Natasha (MawBooks) puts together a great event.

    I’m glad you liked A Certain Slant of Light. I’ve got it in my TBR pile to read so I’ll be interested to see how I like it.

    Good luck on your resolutions!

  3. Those are some great bookish resolutions. I would like to get better about writing reviews. Sometimes I just get too caught up on reading and forget to review the books!

    Hope you reach your goals!

Leave a Reply

