TSS: Read-a-thon Wrap Up

TSSbadge1So it’s over.  Kind of sad really.  I lasted longer than I anticipated.  I read from 9am to 5am, with a nap from 11:30pm-1:30am.  Other than that, I was pretty much reading the entire time.  I probably could have stayed awake later thaan 5am but I was having trouble digesting what I was reading at that point.  My brain had pretty much turned against me.

Final meme

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Between 9:30-11:30pm.  I was really dragging.  My nap helped a lot.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? The Hunger Games was a great read-a-thon book.  In fact, any YA dystopian read would be a good choice for the read-a-thon because they’re so engaging.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I can’t think of anything to change–I thought it went very well.
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? It was very organized, which helped a lot.
5. How many books did you read? 4
6. What were the names of the books you read? Betsy and Tacy Go Downtown, I Know it’s Over, The Hunger Games and I love You, Beth Cooper
7. Which book did you enjoy most? The Hunger Games!!!
8. Which did you enjoy least? Probably I Love You, Beth Cooper.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it, but if I had to pick a least favorite, that would be it.
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I didn’t cheerlead.
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I’ll definitely participate as a reader again!

As you can see above, I read four books during the read-a-thon.  None of those have been reviewed yet.  I also read a few other books during the week leading up to the read-a-thon.

-Twilight, by Stephenie Meyer (review coming soon!)

Magical Thinking, by Augusten Burroughs

After, by Amy Efaw

It’ll be interesting to see how my week in reading goes this week.  Will I feel burnt out from the read-a-thon?  At this point, I feel like I can barely string a coherent thought together but hopefully that’ll pass soon.  I think I may try to take a warm bath and start The Stone Gods–hopefully I’ll feel rejuvenated!

And lastly, the winner of my giveaway is Dana from Scraptherapy! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly for your mailing address.

wimpy4dogdays

7 Responses

  1. Sounds like you had a great read-a-thon! Congratulations.

  2. I’m so glad you had fun. Can’t wait to read your review of The Hunger GAmes!

  3. Wow, well done on reading for so long! I’m impressed, given my brain went on holiday around 2 am. =)

  4. I thought for sure I would have reading burnout, but I think I’m going to have the opposite problem. I’ve only been awake for like an hour, and I already am itching to get my hands on a book. You did great at the readathon!

  5. Last year I was really burnt out from the Fall Readathon, but this year I feel like I’m just energized to read more!

  6. Great job with the readathon! I hadn’t thought about reading burnout – hopefully you’re feeling rejuvenated now!

  7. I read The Hunger Games, too, as well as Catching Fire. Glad you enjoyed it as well!

Leave a comment