BTT: Unfinished books?

btt2Suggested by Monibo:

Saw this article (from March) and thought it would make a good BTT confessional question:

Two-thirds of Brits have lied about reading books they haven’t. Have you? Why? What book?

There are two books that come to mind immediately.  I gave both of them immense effort, but it was just  impossible for me to finish either of them.

The first one is A Tale of Two Cities, by Charles Dickens.  I am almost always completely honest in admitting that I did not read the last forty-five or so pages.  I just couldn’t do it.  However, I still count it as a book I’ve read, because I did read 90% of it, so that has to count for something, right??

TALE_OF_TWO_CITIES,_A

The other book I count as having read I didn’t get nearly as far as I did in A Tale of Two Cities.  That book would be The Last of the Mohicans, by James Fenimore Cooper.  I was supposed to read it for one of my English classes in college but became bored immediately and barely read any of it.  I guess because I had to pretend in class that I had read it, my lie just stuck.  Whatever the reason, I have included this book on lists of books I’ve read when really, it has no business being included.

1355-1Anyone else bluffed about reading a certain book, or am I the only one?!

8 Responses

  1. Wow you read 90%, I didn’t even read 45 pages of it! I wonder if I could read it now, years later. Never attempted The Last of the Mohicans, but there are other books “skimmed” through in high school.

  2. I never could finish The Last of the Mohicans, either. Fortunately, I didn’t have to lie about it – just had to read enough to pass the exam. Loved the movie, though!

  3. I finished Mohicans. Not the Dickens book though. Here is mine

  4. It’s been fun reading all the confessions this morning! Don’t blame you on Cooper. . .I think you have to be in the right frame of mind to read him! Like you’re a ten-year old boy and yearning for an adventure. 🙂

  5. Wow – the 4th Dickens fibber!

  6. I loved The Tale of Two Cities. I couldn’t finished Hard Times though. It is the only Dickens I found boring!

    Booking Through Lies

  7. the only Dickens I’ve read is Great Expectations. I read half, a fact which I always present.

  8. I loved A Tale of Two Cities but more so because my teacher praised my report on it in front of the class. It was a loooooong time ago now. I tried to read TLOTM and don’t think I got past the second page! Sometimes the movies ARE better.

Leave a comment