October 2016 Readathon

img_1832

Good morning everyone! I am so excited to be taking part in another 24 Hour Readathon. I participated in my first readathon in October 2009 and have joined in subsequent readathons whenever possible. It’s been awhile since I have had the time to devote to one of Dewey’s readathons (working retail for five years guaranteed that my Saturdays were always spent working) but I am so thrilled to be here today reading with all of you.

I have a two year old and four year old that will keep me busy and occupied for much of the day (we have plans to do some fun fall activities this morning) but I am still hoping to devote a lot of time to reading and cheerleading.

I try not to bog myself down with a ton of goals, but overall I would like to do the following today:

-Read at least two books

-Spend a cumulative time of 8 hours reading

-Spend at least  hour of cumulative time cheering

I will likely do most of my updates  here as well as on Litsy (reviewsbylola). You may possibly find me on Twitter too (@reviewsbylola).

If you have a Litsy account please post your user name.  The majority of my cheering will  be on Litsy as well so I would love to see everyone’s progress!

Intro survey:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

Columbus, Ohio
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

Probably The Mothers, or really all three of my Book of the Month Club picks.
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

I think I’m the only readathon participant who didn’t go to the grocery store beforehand. Last readathon my husband went and bought me a burrito to try to make my day even better so maybe he’ll do that again!
4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I believe that nothing pairs better with a book then a great bath so I am already going through my bath stash to figure out what my readathon bath will look like later on tonight.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

I feel like I have learned not to pressure myself. I am bummed that I can’t start off reading all morning but I also knew it wouldn’t be fair to coop my kids up all day. I used to also force myself to take small naps and wake up in the middle of the night to read more. I have come to realize that I don’t have to attempt a full 24 hours and so I fully intend to call it quits around Hour 15 and get a full night of sleep.

One Response

  1. I love that you planned to spend some of your reading time in the bath! I haven’t done that in so long (not the readathon bath reading but reading in the tub at all!).

Leave a Reply

