BBAW Day 4

I admit, I skipped the prompt for yesterday.  I just didn’t feel like I had anything to add to the other fabulous posts.  I had fun reading everyone else’s posts though and I added a few tips to my mental list.  One thing is for sure, I need to be on the up and up with twitter.  I have always felt like it moves at such a fast pace that I just can’t keep up, so then I lose interest.  Does anyone have any tips on how to make twitter work for me?

Book bloggers blog because we love reading. Has book blogging changed the way you read? Have you discovered books you never would have apart from book blogging? How has book blogging affected your book acquisition habits? Have you made new connections with other readers because of book blogging? Choose any one of these topics and share your thoughts today!

Book blogging has drastically changed the books I read.  It has encouraged me to branch out a little more and pick up  books that I would otherwise have ignored.  I value the opinions of the blogs I read, so if I see a blogger singing the praises of a book that I would generally dismiss, I instead add it to my wish list.

Here are some books that I doubt I would have ever read without the encouragement of bloggers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That is just a smattering of the wonderful books I have read that I can attribute solely to book bloggers.  What books have you read due to the influence of other bloggers?

26 Responses

  1. Oooh, some great books there — many are ones I want to read, too!

  2. Crooked Letter Crooked Letter is one that I definitely heard about on blogs and really want to read. There are many more that I just haven’t gotten to yet. I have a tough time with Twitter too so not sure what to tell you. I go on a couple times a day, tweet links to blog posts, read through other tweets and retweet here and there, and that’s about it. I’m sure I could be using it much more effectively.

    • I think I just need to force myself to go on twitter more often. Maybe then I’ll get into the swing of things.

      As for Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, it has been one of my favorite books of the year so far. The character development is superb!

  3. I think most of the best books I have read have been because of book bloggers – they are the best!

  4. I like the way you responded to this question! I didn’t respond to yesterday’s prompt either; everything had already been said. 🙂

    • I had the same issue with today’s prompt as well. I don’t think I have half the skill or creativity that many other bloggers have, so their posts are a lot more informative than mine will ever be!

  5. I love The Book Thief!! Just love it! And I just finished Before I Go To Sleep the other day…OMG! I couldn’t put it down and can’t wait to give it to my Mom to read. SOOO good!

  6. Several of those books I also read because of recommendations from book bloggers. I am so happy because I loved a lot of them!

  7. So many good books! I have many of those on my list because of blogger recommendations too.

    I use a program called HootSuite for Twitter. It lets you organize different streams of tweets so it’s easier to see what’s going on, and see who is responding to you. It’s a little confusing at first, but I think it helps.

  8. I like that instead of listing some of the books you’ve read thanks to other bloggers, you included pictures of the covers! Lots of good books there. We are such positive influences on each other 🙂

  9. I’ve read a few on that list and if it weren’t for bloggers, you would have missed out on some awesome books!

  10. I love the break from all the words to look at pretty book covers — thanks! There are a couple on that list I would never have picked up, either.

    As for Twitter, I asked about that yesterday and got some great advice. If you want a Twitter buddy (whatever that is!), let me know! I’d so be up for that. I’m a novice myself, but I’m determined to learn. Let me know if you end up with questions! And good luck!

  11. I’ve been reading everyone else’s comments about twitter because I feel exactly the same! How do you do that reading-a-conversation-backwards thing?? And I couldn’t begin to list the books I’ve read thanks to book blogging friends. Very interesting to see your choices and several there that I will now have to check out….

  12. Quite a few of these books are on my list too!! I am forever grateful that book bloggers got me to read The Book Thief — it blew me away!!!

    • The synopsis of Book Thief wasn’t very convincing to me, so if it weren’t for the many bloggers who sang it’s praises, I never would have thought to pick it up. Not to mention I rarely read YA until I started blogging!

  13. I had never heard of The Book Thief or, believe it or not, The Handmaid’s Tale, two books that I loved. Plus I’ve read so much more non-fiction than I ever would have without blogging. Who says bloggers can’t influence book sales?!

    • That is so funny because I am the opposite of you–I read a lot more non fiction before I started blogging. Admittedly, I definitely needed to add some fiction to my literary diet, so it was a positive change!

  14. I loved The Book Thief (it’s got to be one of my favourite books) and I really want to read Before I Go To Sleep as I’ve read some great reviews for it.

    Bloggers definitely influence my book buying! 🙂

  15. I completely agree with this post. There are so many books that I found through the blogosphere, and I absolutely loved most of them.

  16. What a GREAT list of books you read based on the encouragement of fellow bloggers! Kate Morton (LOVE!), Before I Go to Sleep (also LOVED), Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter (5 stars and a fingersnap!)

  17. Here’s my twitter advice for you and be patient: tweet me a question at @bkclubcare and when I see it (could be instant or a few days later!). I promise to reply and will ask a Q in return. Litlove is welcome (or anyone else here!) to jump in and soonly, I bet, we will have a fun Twitter convo! The trick if there is one, is that sometimes, you get something started and sometimes, you don’t. And it is what it is…
    🙂
    I could blame a few of these books on bloggers. Nowadays, it is the really odd rare book that I cannot claim I saw on the interwebs!

Leave a Reply

