The Sunday Salon

I hope you all are having a great Sunday.  My husband and I were out late last night for my best friend’s birthday, so we slept in late this morning and have been taking it easy ever since.  The best kind of Sunday is a lazy one!

I have been woefully slow with my reading lately.  I suppose you could say I am in a reading funk.  I read only one book this entire week–The Color Purple, by Alice Walker.  There is a read-a-long going on for this book, so I went ahead and read it since I already owned it and had been meaning to read it anyway.  Other than that, I have read one chapter out of A Short History of Women, by Kate Walbert, and I have decided to forgoe this one indefinitely.  It is for my bookclub this coming Wednesday, but it appears that every single one of my fellow book club members hated it, so I decided to skip it.  I rarely ever do that, at least without giving the book a fighting chance, but I am just not in the mood for this particular book right now, and the fact that none of my friends liked it makes me leery.

So instead of reading A Short History of Women today, I am going to start Red Hook Road, by Ayelet Waldeman.  I think it sounds like just the type of story that will catch my attention and get me out of my funk.  I hope the rest of you get some reading in today too!

6 Responses

  1. I really need to read The Color Purple. I hope your funk ends soon. :/

  2. I must say that I hate reading funks but whenever it happens I go to one of my standby reads…something that I know that I will enjoy and that isn’t overly taxing. I also go to my google reader because sometimes I just need to read about what others are reading to get me back in the reading mood. LOL! I’m a nut like that 🙂 Hope you manage to find your way out of your funk and that you have a great week as well!

  3. I wasn’t too fond of A Short History of Women, either. Although it was a case of ambivalence rather than hate. But I’d say you were smart to stop reading it.

  4. If every single member of your bookgroup hated Short History, odds are good you would, too!

    Excellent decision.

  5. I’ve heard great things about Red Hook Road so hopefully it will get you out of your slump!

  6. I hope you’re not in the beginnings of a slump! Sending good reading mojo your way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

