The Sunday Salon

Ok, so I am having another slow start today.  What else is new?  I suppose there is nothing better than having a lazy Sunday, so I won’t beat myself up over it!

I am now finally realizing that I will be in Italy, so I am running all over the place trying to get ready for my trip.  Obviously, one of the most important issues to deal with is what books to take on my trip! So far, I have decided on the following:

Nana, Emile Zola

A Reliable Wife, Robert Goolrick

The Girl Who Played with Fire, Stieg Larssen

Roses, Leila Meacham

Wolf Half, Hillary Mantel

That is too many books–and some heavy ones at that!  I care not though.  They will all be coming with me, along with two others if they’re not finished by this Saturday.  Better to have too many books than not enough, right?

I read two books this week–The Cradle, by Patrick Somerville and The Postmistress, by Sarah Blake.  I am now in the middle of Commencement, by J Courtney Sullivan.  I may finish it today, but I am not holding my breath.  I hope to get in some more packing and some cleaning before I get back to reading.  I hope everyone enjoys their Sunday–happy spring!

4 Responses

  1. I have to admit, after what I’ve heard I’m not looking forward to Zola as much as I used to, but i need to read Germinal soon. So am I reading that right, you’re leaving next Saturday? I hope you have a fabulous time!

  2. I think you made some excellent choices. Have a lovely trip!

  3. Italy – I am so jealous! Have a great trip!

    I am looking forward to your review of Commencement – that one is on my wishlist!

  4. Italy – I’m jealous, too! Finally started my Zola this week (The Ladies’ Paradise). I’m liking it, but it’s not at all a ‘fast’ read. Looks like some good books for your trip!

Leave a comment