The Sunday Salon

Once again, I feel like my week in reading was pretty weak.  That seems to be my mantra for February.  I finished one book this week–Passing, by Nella Larsen–and I am close to finishing the third part of East of Eden, by John Steinbeck.  I also read fifty pages of The Shack and decided it just wasn’t worth it.  The writing was so contrived and I just didn’t want to read it.  So I didn’t.

The good news is that there are really no plans for today.  I have some general housework to do, but other than that my day will be devoted to reading.

Despite the fact that my reading has been lagging, I decided to aquire some more books this week.  Firstly, I bought Cutting for Stone, by Abraham Verghese.  The reviews I read for it portrayed it as a phenomenal book, so I purchased it. 

I also got two review copies this week from Hatchette.  The first, The Little Giant of Aberdeen County, by Tiffany Baker, is a book I have had on my list for over a year.  It will also count towards the Deb challenge I am currently signed up for.  The other book I am super excited about!

I love Chelsea Handler.  I think she is absolutely hysterical.  When her last book was published, I was lucky enough to get to meet her.  As soon as the book arrived in the mail, I immediately texted my family members because I knew they would be insanely jealous!

I also got quite a few library books.

Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Asher (this is a re-check out)

Secondand Smoke, by Patti Friedmann (for my trip to New Orleans)

The Last Madame: A Life in the New Orleans Underworld, by Christine Wiltz (also for my trip to New Orleans)

Forever, by Judy Blume (for the Shelf Discovery challenge)

Murder of a Medici Princess, by Caroline P Murphy (for my trip to Florence)

Signora da Vinci, by Robin Maxwell (also for my trip to Florence)

Have you read any of these?  If so, what are your thoughts?

Have a great Sunday everyone!

 

 

8 Responses

  1. I need to read Cutting for Stone this week! (Thank you for reminding me. The author is coming to Houston week after this one and I’ve already bought tickets online.)

  2. I keep hearing great things about Cutting For Stone. Hoping my library gets a copy soon so I can finally read it, too.

  3. Cutting for Stone is the book I most regret not reading in 2009…will take of that soon, I hope. I read The Shack for my book club last year. Would have tossed it if I hadn’t been on a plane with nothing else to read! But, I ended up finishing and will say that the discussion was much better than the book.

  4. I’m not interested at all in The Shack…

    13 Reasons Why is an excellent book but one you want to start in a morning because many people find it un-put-downable. I started it at 2 in the afternoon (not being warned) and couldn’t stop reading until like 1 in the morning. I read through dinner, through picking up my kids from school, through the only TV program that I watch…

  5. I’ve only read 13 Reasons Why (and the author is a local, so there are places in the book that are based on local businesses…fun!). But like you, I do want to read Cutting for Stone. I just haven’t gone so far as to buy it yet.

  6. I read Are You There God, It’s Me Vodka? by Chelsea Handler completely on the recommendation of a friend – I don’t like Handler’s show so wasn’t interested in the book but . . . I found it hysterical! Enjoy her new one!

  7. Is meeting Chelsea anything like smacking yourself in the face while simultaneously trying to brush lipstick off your teeth? That’s how I envision it. Exhilarating, mildly humiliating, and all out strange. 🙂

  8. I’m counting the Little Giant as one of my Deb choices as well. I hope I like it. I think people have basically been mixed on the character of Truly.

Leave a Reply

