BTT: Recent Informative

btt2What’s the most informative book you’ve read recently?


This one is a bit hard for me–nothing jumps to mind immediately.  I have seen a few bloggers who answered Sacred Hearts, by Sarah Dunant, and that’s definitely a contender.  Historical fiction is great in the sense that it allows the reader to enter a new world that usually isn’t accessible.  Sacred Hearts did just that–life in Italy in the sixteenth century, in a convent no less, is not something I am too knowledgeable about.  So I would say historical fiction in general is a great way to gain concrete knowledge.  Some other great historical fiction novels I’ve read recently are Plague of Doves, by Louise Erdrich, and Sea of Poppies, by Amitav Ghosh–both absolutely fantastic reads!

img_plague

5 Responses

  1. I agree about historical fiction–especially the really good kind that immerses you in a time and place.

  2. I’m interested in all of the titles you mentioned, but especially The Plague of Doves. Recently discovered Erdrich through her short stories, but now am looking forward to reading her novels.

  3. I love fiction that makes me want to learn more about history. The Plague of Doves is on my tbr and I’m looking forward to getting to it!

  4. Hi,
    I wanted to let you know I did my review about the Flapper book. You expressed an interest and you can find the review here. http://jennifertffq.blogspot.com/2009/09/flapper-by-joshua-zeitz.html

Leave a Reply

