Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Ransom Riggs

Quirk Books

352 pages

I know, I know.  ANOTHER review for Peculiar Children.  It’s getting ridiculous, but it’s for good reason.  Because seriously, you have to read this book.  If you have previously been on the fence about it, I am about to convince you to bite the bullet and pick it up.

Jacob grew up hearing a myriad of creepy, paranormal stories from his grandfather.  Levitating girls, invisible boys and the like.  As a kid, he believed the stories unflinchingly, but as he grew older, he believed his grandfather was feeding him fairy tales and he became a a skeptic.  That is, until his grandfather died.

The death left a void for Jacob, and in an attempt to come to terms with it, as well as his grandfather’s life, he travels to the Welsh island where his grandfather spent his adolescence, at a group home that Jacob thought was for refugee children from the war.

So Jacob’s exploring the island.  He is hoping to find Miss Peregrine, who is the matron of the home, but when he finally finds the home, it is obviously abandoned.  In fact, it was bombed during WWII, just after Jacob’s grandfather left.

So that’s when the weird shit starts to happen.  Jacob is able to travel back to September 3,

One of the many creepy photos.

1940 and all of a sudden, he is in this parallel universe with his grandfather’s peers.  And boy are they peculiar!

It’s pretty obvious by my preface that I loved this book.  It was so atmospheric, as well as deliciously creepy.  The paranormal aspect is not generally something I go for, but I am glad I gave it a chance.  Maybe someday I will be head over heels for the genre.  I thought it was done at just the right pace, with enough realism in it to keep me interested.

My biggest question once I finished the books was perhaps an unfair one.  Would Peculiar Children be as good without the pictures?  Do the pictures make the book? My answer is that the pictures add such a cool element to the story that they take an average plot line and turn it into something special.  I wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much without the pictures, but that’s not to say it’s a bad story.  I am just a sucker for pictures.

We’re heading into cooler days (although you wouldn’t know that today.  It feels like the middle of summer again!), and what could be better than to curl up with a good book? With Halloween coming up, this one is the perfect choice.

Other Reviews:

Fyrefly’s Book Blog

Good Books and Good Wine

Jenn’s Bookshelves

Fizzy Thoughts

Capricious Reader

I purchased this book from Barnes & Noble.

This book counts towards RIP VI.

23 Responses

  1. I definitely agree with you on this one! Loved it! And the photos do make the book. Think about it, the author would have almost had to write the book around the pictures he already had on hand! It’s almost as if it could be called a picture book, or requires a new category of definition, a “picture novel”. I’d love to read more novels like this. It is similar in a way to Selznick’s “The Invention of Hugo Cabret” or “Wonderstruck” which I just received in the mail yesterday and am dying to read!

  2. I loooove me some atmosphere. Will definitely be picking this one up.

  3. You know, I’ve seen reviews that say they loved the picture element, and reviews that say the exact opposite, that it was too much. Either way, I’m so looking forward to getting my hands on this one! It’s been on hold from the library for a few weeks and I think I’m down to 75th on the list (from something like 117th when I first started!). Hopefully I’ll get it before RIP ends!

  4. This sounds deliciously creepy. I bet the pictures add a fun element to the book.

  5. This looks like the perfect book to read in Oct. Also, those creepy photos freak me out! What is up with those kids?

  6. I agree…the pictures are integral to the story and really made the book. Even if I wasn’t as big of a fan as you, I did like the creepy pictures.

  7. I’m planning to read this one soon for the RIP Challenge as well – looking forward to it, and I do think the pictures make it that much more disturbing.

  8. I wouldn’t say that I was ever on the fence about it (just looking at the cover or reading the title terrifies me), but, after reading your review, I know that I will never, ever read this book. Way too scary for this big baby.

  9. This is one of the books I plan to read for the R.I.P. challenge but I have quite a few lined up that I’d rather read first so I hope I make it to this one before Halloween.

  10. I love the cover of this book, and it does sound really good 🙂

  11. I was one of the ones on the fence over this one but you’ve convinced me to pick it up!

  12. I’ve read some intriguing reviews on this one (including yours). I really hope to get my hands on this one sometime.

  13. The WWII connection really makes me want to read it. I’ll definitely keep this title in mind.

  14. I HAVE been on the fence about this one but am definitely convinced I must read it!! I could see where the pictures add a different element to it. That was one if the things I loved about Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close even though I’m typically more of a traditional book person.

  15. I just got the book a few days ago but I still haven’t read it yet. It sounds kind of scary. But I am convinced that I have to make time for this fascinating book. Thanks 😉

  16. I know. I read this book before RIP and never reviewed it. Now I am sort of wondering if there is even any point… Good review!

  17. I am one of those on the fence about this book but have been considering it for October. I have to read one unusual, creepy book!

  18. I agree with you about the photos. They really were an integral part of the story for me and I don’t think I would have enjoyed it as much without them.

  19. I really liked this one, too. It was my second RIP read as well, and it’s a great book for that challenge. I definitely think the pictures are critical to the story, but I hadn’t thought about whether I’d still like the story without them. I think maybe I would have, but they are so well integrated that it’s hard to imagine the book without them.

  20. I have this one on my bookshelf; I can’t wait to read it.

  21. Um, how did I miss that this book has pictures?! I watched a book trailer for it when it was first gaining buzz and I couldn’t even finish watching because it started getting too scary! (though I’ve heard it’s deceiving). Definitely intrigued–though the pictures might end up scaring me even more! 😉

Leave a comment