Book Date: 12-12-16

untitledIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date. And here we are!

I had a pretty bad blogging week last week and haven’t blogged since last Monday. I made up for it though by reading a bit more than normal. It’s difficult to stay in the swing of things with all the holiday festivities going on!

What I finished:

img_2600

I actually finished to 5 star books last week. That rarely ever happens!

The Sun is Also a Star is YA, so not a genre I gravitate towards. I read Yoon’s first book Everything, Everything, only because my mom handed me her copy and told me to read it. I was blown away, and I couldn’t put the damn thing down. So I didn’t even look at the synopsis of her new book, I just added it to my TBR. Then it became a Book of the Month choice, and there you have it. I read within a few days of receiving it in the mail, and I think I actually liked it even better than her last book. It has such great insights on love, familial relationships, and the ways we affect others without even realizing it. Definitely one of my favorites of the year.

The Fall Guy was another Book of the Month choice, and I can absolutely say I NEVER would have read it if it hadn’t been a selection. I added it to my box on a whim but had never seen it around and I had no familiarity with the author. Then the bad reviews came pouring in on Litsy and I figured I’d made a huge mistake. Luckily I still picked it up, because it was fantastic. The characterization was perfectly on point and the setting and sharp prose added an extra element. It actually reminded me a bit of American Psycho, by Brett Easton Ellis.

My third book this week was less of a hit. Fire Angels is a title I got off of Netgalley and it is the fictionalized account of the fire at Our Lady of the Angels Catholic school in Chicago in 1958. Kern chose to tell the story from the viewpoint of “fire”, which I just couldn’t embrace. I feel guilty about it, because I think she is a great writer and it was obvious she put a lot of thought and care into the book, but I felt like it would have made more sense to pick 2-3 children to focus on before the fire and then continue their story during and after the fire. I will post an in-depth review in the upcoming weeks that will provide a better explanation of why I didn’t care for the book entirely.

Currently reading:

img_2597

I’m not very far along, but The Santa Claus Man is a book I HAD to read in December. It is the story of John Gluck, Jr., a man who started an organization to answer Santa’s mail in NYC in the 1910s. I know there was scandal involved as well, but at 50 pages in, I’m not there yet. It’s really putting me in the holiday spirit though!

Down Among the Dead Men is similar to other books I’ve read this year about morgues and autopsies (freakish and morose, I know!). Morgue, by Vincent DiMaio and Working Stiff, by Judy Melinek, were done better in my opinion, but this is still an interesting read. It is my first time using Hoopla to access ebooks and so far, I’m not sure if the selection is that much better than my library but I am definitely keeping an open mind because the hold times for ebooks at my library are ridiculous. If you’re a fan of Hoopla, I’d love to hear!

Serial Reader:

img_2593For an explanation of the Serial Reader app, click here.

I finished A Christmas Carol this past week, so I can finally say I’ve read another Dickens! A Tale of Two Cities was pretty dreadful for me, so I’ve kept away from Dickens for the past ten years. I knew Serial would be the way to tackle him and I was right. I loved A Christmas Carol and it was short enough that Dickens long windedness didn’t bother me.

I am now doing a Litsy readlong with The Abbott’s Ghost, by Louisa May Alcott (#spirited if you want to follow along with us on Litsy!). It is another short one, only 9 issues, so I will finish it before the weekend. So far feelings are mixed on this one but I loved it from the get go. The characters all seem to be hiding something and no one is particularly likeable so I love it!!

What is everyone else reading this week?

 

9 Responses

  1. Your books are new to me…enjoy! Thanks for sharing, and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

  2. It’s so tough to get all the reading and blogging done with such a long holiday to-do list!

    I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews for Nicola Yoon so I’m going to have to read those soon.

  3. I haven’t read any of these. I had Everything, Everything on my TBR mountain for a while but donated it before I had a chance to read it. I’ll have to add it back to my wishlist. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

  4. I don’t read much YA, but have been curious about The Sun is Also a Star. Sounds like it belongs on my list!

  5. Enjoy your books and have a great week!

  6. Reading and blogging during the holidays is crazy, isn’t it? Happy reading, and have a great week!

  7. The Santa Claus Man sounds like a great story, I had no idea such a guy existed. Now I want to read it too 🙂 Have a happy reding week!

  8. The Santa Claus Man sounds interesting, I’m going to have to check that one out!
    thanks for stopping by my It’s Monday Post

  9. Looking forward to The Sun Is Also A Star. Glad you got a bunch of reading accomplished last week.

Leave a Reply

