Book Date: 12/5/16

untitledIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date. And here we are!

Finished this week:

img_2400

Only one book finished this week (although I did finish The Jungle and Anna Karenina on the Serial Reader app, so when you add those two I actually had a very successful week!). Parkland was over 500 pages and very dense. It was not a quick read by any stretch of the imagination and it actually took me a week and a half to read, which is longer than I typically take to read print books. It was phenomenal though (pretty much everything Bugliosi has written is great but this is definitely up there with Helter Skelter). The amount of research that went into this is astounding.

Despite the length, I did feel a bit put off by the ending. Bugliosi chose to focus on November 22-25, 1963, with the majority of the focus being on the day of the assassination and the following day. As such, the book pretty much ends with Lee Harvey Oswald being shot by Jack Ruby. A small amount of the following interrogations with Ruby were included, but not much. And no afterword to tell us what happened years down the road. I understand why Bugliosi stopped where he did but I would have liked even more.

Currently reading:

img_2531The Fall Guy was a Book of the Month choice two months ago. I added it on a whim and then instantly regretted it. It’s a book I had never heard of by an author I had never heard of, which usually means I pass right by it. Then I saw the Litsy reviews. The title is listed twice on Litsy. On one version, it had a 23% rating, so very concerning. The other version had a 0% rating. I literally don’t think I have ever seen that on Litsy. Ever. So I was like Oh shit. And I considered skipping it all together but I had decided to spend the month of December catching up on all of my BOTM books (7 including the three I got this month). And I started it yesterday because I needed something “easy” after Parkland. And OMG I can’t put it down. I have probably 75 pages to go and I wanted so badly to just finish it last night but I tried to pace myself to avoid a book hangover.

I am still reading Fire Angels on my Kindle app. I don’t dislike it but I also don’t particularly like it. While the subject is interesting (a school fire at Our Lady of the Saints Catholic school in Chicago in 1958), I think that the book lacks a clear focus and the fact that it is told in the viewpoint of “fire” is odd to me and so far unsuccessful. I am about halfway through so hopefully I can finish it soon.

Serial Reader:

img_2529

For an explanation of serial, click here.

I have been using Serial since mid July and had yet to finish anything (and that is despite me being dedicated and reading at least one issue per day!). Until this week, that is. Last Tuesday I FINALLY finished Anna Karenina. I practically cried tears of joy. Let’s just say it wasn’t for me.

Then today I finished The Jungle. That one went much better. I loved it. In fact, had the second half been as engaging as the first half, I would have given it five stars and named it one of my favorite reads of 2016. I found the second half to be a bit tiresome though, especially as the book got more and more political at the very end. Still very good though, if not the most depressing book I have ever read.

I am now halfway through A Christmas Carol, which I have actually never read. I am a bit intimidated by Dickens after reading A Tale of Two Cities in college (and hating it), so I have stayed away from him since then. I am enjoying this one much more though.

On Wednesday I will be starting The Abbott’s Ghost: A Christmas Story, by Louisa May Alcott. Some other readers on Litsy are doing a readalong so I decided to join in. At only 9 issues, it will be a quick read.

What is eneryone else reading this week?

4 Responses

  1. I had to read Bleak House in college and didn’t enjoy it much, but I read A Christmas Carol every second Christmas season and have done so for many years. It’s the best of Dickens’ Christmas novels and justifiably popular, I think. I took some bookbinding courses several years ago and printed and bound my very own copy of it.

  2. Isn’t it nice when a book you have no expectations for is amazing! I love when that happens. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

  3. Parkland looks like one of those books I should read. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

  4. Definitely says something for a book when you’ve read 500 pages and want more, especially when it’s on a subject that we tend to feel like we already know so much about. I need to pick this up. I really enjoy Serial but I tend to forget I’ve got it. I’m just finishing up three plays on it but I think I’ll scale down to just one book at a time on it so I’m only looking at a 10-15 min chunk of time from there each day.

Leave a Reply

