Book Review: My Name is Lucy Barton

th

My Name is Lucy Barton

Elizabeth Strout

Random House

193 pages

Synopsis:

Lucy Barton is a young mother recuperating in the hospital in the 1980s. Her mother, with whom she has had a contentious, cold relationship with her entire life, comes to the hospital to care for her and the two share memories and gossip from their quiet hometown. Her mother’s presence gives Lucy the opportunity to reflect on the relationship she has with her mother.

My thoughts:

I don’t have a lot to say about this one.  As I was reading it, Lucy’s experiences really resonated with me and were a cause for introspection. However, now that it has been some time since I have read it, I find that most of it has slipped away from me. I can barely grasp onto my initial thoughts, and that is disappointing.  Do I think it is worth a read? Absolutely. It is SHORT–the publisher may call it 193 pages but it reads at less than 100 because of page breaks, etc. I read it in two sittings and could have easily read it in one had I planned accordingly.

This was my first Strout and I do think I want to give her another shot. Maybe Olive Kittrdge? I would love suggestions from my blogger friends!

 

One Response

  1. I will read this at some point, but it is disappointing to hear that it is not memorable. I strive above anything to read books that will stay with me for good or for bad. To me, reading a book that I didn’t like, but I can still talk about it five, ten, years later, is worth so much more to me than a forgettable book that I did like.

Leave a Reply

