Book Date: 11/14/16

untitledIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date. And here we are!

img_2188Finished during the past week:

I finished Shelter shortly after my post last week. Overall, I was impressed with Yun’s ability to flesh out a flawed, realistic character. The book was very well done, but something about it failed to resonate with me completely, so I won’t be including it as one of my favorites of the year.

I was having difficulty deciding what to pick up next, so I posted a picture of my TBR pile on Litsy and asked them to choose for me. The resounding response was that I HAD to read Homegoing ASAP. So I did. And I am glad I did. It deserves all the praise it has received and I am so interested to see what Gyasi does next.

img_2189Currently Reading:

The Purple Diaries is still on my ereader. I move much slower with ebooks. I am still enjoying this one and I have just finished the portion that deals with the child custody case between Mary Astor and Franklyn Thorpe, so I am very interested to see how their lives pan out once the court case is behind them. I found this one on Netgalley, so if you love salacious celebrity tell alls and the glitz and glamour of the 1930s, check this one out. It also includes a ton of pictures, which is such a great addition.

I am about 25 pages in to The Trespasser, so I have barely started it. Unfortunately, yesterday did not lend itself to as much reading time as I had hoped. This is book #6 in the Dublin Murder Squad series from French. Faithful Place (#3) was my favorite but since then, the books have lost some of their magic for me. Even though I have barely read any of The Trespasser yet, I can already tell that I love Antoinette Conway, so I am hopeful that I will love this one as much as French’s earlier books.

img_2190Serial Update:

For an explanation of the Serial Reader app, click here.

I read 7 issues of Anna Karenina and 12 issues of The Jungle over the past week. Anna is getting good, but it’s a case of too little, too late for me. All the political passages, combined with dealing with Levin recently, have been more than enough for me. I honestly just want to finish it at this point.

The Jungle has had me rapt from the first issue, so much so that I actually read five extra issues this week. But man, Yurgis is really pissing me off at the moment. He’s off doing his thing right now and I’m like WTF Yurgis, seriously?! Easy for me to say though, I know. This is by far the most depressing book I have ever read, ever.

I would love to hear what everyone else is up to this week!

 

4 Responses

  1. I’m curious about Shelter and The Purple Diaries. Enjoy! Thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

  2. I’m very interested in Homegoing, too. Thanks for giving it such high marks.

  3. Shelter looks really good. Hope you have a great week!

  4. I really enjoyed Shelter and think it will end up on my top books for 2016, but I can see why it might not resonate with everyone. It had a hard edge to it.

Leave a Reply

