Book Date 11/7/16

untitled It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date. And here we are!

img_2096Print books:

I finally finished got to one of my most anticipated Book of the Month selections, The Mothers. This one is deserving of all the hype, and I found myself agreeing with a lot of the sentiments that the characters struggled with. It is one of those books that really makes you re-examine your life’s choices, and how they affect others. At times it made me very uncomfortable.

Frida Kahlo is one of the four books in the Library of Luminaries series. I had requested that my library order these a few months ago and I am so thrilled they finally did. Apparently others were too, because the other three books were already checked out! I absolutely loved this book. The illustrations are such a sweet addition and I enjoyed the bite sized information that is included. It only took me 20 minutes to read, so I feel like I am cheating by adding these to my book count, but I think they would be a great addition to readathon stacks as a palate cleanser. I look forward to reading the other three.

A few days ago I had realized that the end of the year is fast approaching, so I posted on Litsy about the five books that I am determined to read before the end of the year. Shelter was one of the five books, and so I made sure to grab it at the library over the weekend. The praise everyone was heaping on it, along with the fact that it is about a dysfunctional family, made me certain that I would love it. I am about 2/3 through and up until this morning, it hadn’t really grabbed me, to be honest. I wasn’t really connecting with the main character, Kyung, and I was wondering what I was missing. But then I picked it up this morning and discovered that all of a sudden, I’m hooked. So I look forward to finishing this one in the next few days.

img_2097Ebooks:

I have to admit, I have been having difficulty finding any ebooks recently that grab my attention. I am much more fickle with my ebooks and find the format difficult to engage with.

This week, therefore, has been a homerun for me as far as ebooks are concerned. I am reading both of these titles through Netgalley, and they are both from Diversion Publishing. Not Just Evil is true crime, and it is the story of the brutal killing of a 12 year old girl by William Edward Hickman in 1927. Hickman was obsessed with watching gilms at the theaters, which was the impetus behind his crime (he literally kidnapped the girl in order to get a ransom to pay for his habit). The author did a fantastic job of tying in filmmaking and how the culture was influenced by Hickman’s crime.

The Purple Diaries is my current read and even more compelling. It’s the story of the sensational custody case between film star Mary Astor and her husband in the 1930s. Astor had chronicled her entire life over the course of years in her diaries, which her husband discovered and attempted to use against her in court proceedings. I can’t put it down.

img_2098-2

Serial Reader:

For my post explaining Serial Reader, click here. I am still reading Anna Karenina and The Jungle. I am 86% through Anna and I have 23 issues left!! The end is in sight. I have to say, I have found it to be a pretty tedious read and I’m not sure I understand why most people seem to like it.

As for The Jungle, I absolutely love it. It is heart breaking, devastating, and traumatic, but I can’t stop reading it and often read ahead. I am 48% through, with 34 issues to go. This week I read probably the most disgusting passage yet, which involved dead, poisoned rats being tossed in the sausage machine with rotten meat. My best friend confirmed that this book was a large part of why she decided to become vegetarian.

I would love to hear what everyone else is reading this week!

 

6 Responses

  1. I’m in the queue for The Mothers at the library, but I need to wait for another 20 people to read it first!

    How are you enjoying the Book of the Month club?

    • The Mothers is worth the wait! I am slightly obsessed with BOTM. My family makes fun of me because I get so excited on the 1st of each month when they announce the new choices. We always try to choose the same book so we can read it together and I start texting them the second the choices are revealed. lol

  2. I’m so glad Shelter finally clicked for you… it will certainly end up on my favorites list. Especially loved the ending. Looking forward to The Mothers. Have yet to see a negative review.

    • You are actually the one that really stuck with me as far as how much you raved about Shelter. As soon as Kyung got to the Cape, I turned a corner. Maybe I just wasn’t in the right mood for it over the weekend. Or maybe now that Kyung is beginning to stand up for himself I am connecting with him more.

  3. Yay! Another Steph/fanie! You had a very productive week of reading. How terrific. Wonder Woman is SO cool. I can’t wait to see her movie. Glad you found it cheaper. I was so glad to be able to return the Spirit store costume; it was ludicrous that price and I didn’t want to give my husband heart palpitations. We will start looking on Amazon October 1st next year. Thank you very much for stopping by my little blog.

Leave a Reply

