Book Review: You Will Know Me

books4f-7-web

You Will Know Me

Megan Abbott

Little Brown

352 pages

Devon is only 15, but she’s not your average teenager. She has dedicated her life to becoming a world class gymnast, and she will do whatever it takes to succeed. A wrench is thrown into her plans when someone close to the gymnastics center where she trains dies suddenly. Devon remains stoic but is relentless in her quest to become an elite gymnast. Her mother, the narrator of You Will Know Me, struggles with coming to terms with the death and also with how to best serve her family, including Devon’s younger brother.

Seemingly straightforward, the book ends up becoming darker and creepier as the story unfolds. I wasn’t necessarily expecting a mystery, but You Will Know Me does qualify as one, which is why my synopsis is so cryptic. Devon was a difficult character for me to get a grasp on, and I believe that was intention on the author’s part. No one seemed to know what to make of her, including her own parents.

The parenting struggles that Devon’s mom, Katie, constantly seemed to be struggling with resonated with me as a parent. It’s impossible to ever know whether we are making the right decisions for our children, and Katie was often conflicted about how to juggle her family life and all of the obligations of each family member. Her son was often overlooked in the chaos of Devon’s gymnastics career, and Katie felt a lot of guilt over that.

You Will Know Me wasn’t one of my favorite books of the year but I felt it was well written. The mystery kept my interest and I appreciated that the book was multi dimensional and focused on other issues as well.

 

 

 

3 Responses

  1. I like your review Lola. This seems an interesting read especially with sports intertwined in it. Now I want to know why the person close to the people at the gymnastics center dies and how it relates to gymnastics.

  2. I was so disappointed in this one. I just didn’t find so much of it believable. Good review!

  3. I agree – not my fave book of the year but I was kept interested with the red herrings and little clues and surprised in the end. And interested in the exploration of trust.

Leave a Reply

