Book Review: Jane Steele

thCJVM0BDZ

Jane Steele

Lyndsay Faye

Headline Review

432 pages

Jane Steele is a new retelling of Jane Eyre, done in a sassy and clever way. Jane Steele was orphaned as a child and was forced to make her way in Victorian London. Jane is a hardened girl who has been forced to fend for herself, and she quickly learns how to stand up for herself, even if it means resorting to murder. Yes, Jane Eyre has been reimagined as a serial killer.

Eventually, Jane becomes a governess for Sahjara, who is the wars of Charles Thorpe. Charles has inherited Jane’s family mansion, and she has maneuvered her way into the household to determine whether she is the rightful heir, as her mother has led her to believe. As is expected though, she falls in love with Charles Thorpe. He has been hiding his own secrets, and their love is threatened by the pasts they’re withholding from one another.

Jane Steele is one of the best heroines I have read in recent memory. Her snappy dialogue had me laughing aloud, and I loved how brazen she was, while also being humble. And don’t even get me started on the love affair aspect of the book. It was one of those love angles that is so effortless for the reader. I was rooting for them the whole time and really wanted them to be together.

I don’t think it is necessary to have read Jane Eyre before reading Jane Steele. Admittedly, it has been so long since I read Jane Eyre that I honestly don’t remember many details. I feel that Jane Steele, while having been inspired by the original, is truly a standalone book.

One Response

  1. I have a copy of this and I am really looking forward to reading it 🙂

Leave a Reply

