The Sunday Salon 4/08/2012

Happy Easter everyone!

I admit, I did not make it to church this morning.  My husband and I slept in instead and then joined my family for a nice, leisurely brunch.  My plans for the rest of the day include a lot of lazing around and blogging.  And reading.  Because guys, I am reading one of the most absorbing books I have read in awhile.

I’ll admit, I was a little nervous when I chose to be a part of this tour.  The premise sounded interesting enough and the cover is gorgeous, but I have never read anything by Trigiani.  I know she is a popular author but none of her books have ever called out to me.  Now that I am almost 2/3 of the way done with The Shoemaker’s Wife, I am beginning to wonder if maybe I should go back and read some of Trigiani’s other books. What do you think?  Do you have any favorite titles to recommend?

12 Responses

  1. I listened to two of the audiobooks voiced by Cassandra Campbell: Very Valentine and Brava, Valentine. I loved them both! I’m looking forward to her new one!

  2. I haven’t read anything by Trigiani before so I can’t recommend anything. I can’t wait to read your review. Happy Easter!

  3. I adore Adriana Trigiani’s work so I’m not surprised you’re loving it. My absolute favorite of all her books is Lucia, Lucia.

  4. Whoops, I forgot to say Happy Easter!

  5. I haven’t read her books, but I’ve heard great things too. I do have one of her others on my shelf. Happy Easter!

  6. I love the feeling of finding a new author that had previously dismissed. I’m feeling that way about Lauren Groff — I didn’t think much about reading her despite some good reviews of her older books, but I just read Monsters of Templeton and now want to read everything she’s written.

  7. Cassandra Campbell is a great reader — one of my favorite femaile voices. She Narrated The School of Essential Ingredients which was gook….Hope you had a nice Easter.

  8. Hope you have a lovely Easter 🙂

  9. I am also readng The Shoemaker’s Wife and loving it! Besides that one, Lucia, Lucia is my favorite, but the Valentine books are very good, too.

  10. Stephanie, I have been reading her books for awhile, and as of yet have not found any that I didn’t love. I attend the author talks through Thurber House, and she was one of the authors last year or the year before (can’t remember). She was a hoot! I became even more enamored with her after that 🙂 Happy reading. Lisa

Leave a Reply

