I Bet You Were Wondering

Whether or not I was still alive. And I am! I feel like I have been away for months and months but in reality it’s just been two weeks.  I admit the holidays, along with some other stuff, has thrown me into a mini reading slump.  I have read barely anything in the past two weeks.  I had high hopes of reaching my goal of 100 books by the end of the year but now it’s looking like a lost cause.  I’m about halfway through The Devil in the White City, by Erik Larson, which I’ve already read.  Nothing was catching my interest so I figured this would grab me.  It has, BUT it is still taking me longer than it usually would.

One book that wowed me recently though (and the only other book I’ve been reading recently, for that matter!) is Divergent, by Veronica Roth.  I could not put it down! It made me realize two things.  The first was that I should never have avoided this book.  I am not even sure why I did.  The second was that I am on a roll with YA dystopian fiction.  I read Delirium, by Lauren Oliver, a few weeks ago and was wowed by it.  I just need the sequels to that and Divergent to be released ASAP.

As for Christmas, what a whirlwind! It was a great day spent with family and there was a lot of eating going on, which is one of my favorite parts about any holiday.  Unfortunately I didn’t get any books as gifts but my husband did give me a new Kindle for Christmas! And by that, I mean we bought it together and I wrapped it myself.  But still.  It’s the thought that counts. I actually had a pretty hard time deciding which Kindle to go with.  I opted not to get the Fire right away because I didn’t want a color ereader.  I already have an iPad so if I needed to read something in color for some reason, that’s my go to.  I have subscriptions to US Weekly and OK via my Kindle app on the iPad, but other than that I rarely use it to read.  But I digress.  So anyway, it came down to the Kindle Touch or the regular Kindle.  I initially wanted the touch but the reviews were pretty disappointing.  So then I figured maybe I would just go for the regular Kindle.  I can’t tell you what eventually made me go with a Touch.  I mean, I have had a first generation Kindle for years, so maybe it’s time for a change.  So I decided on the Touch.  Then I had to decide whether I wanted to pay $50 more for the 3G.  That was actually a pretty easy decision.  If money were no object, the 3G would have been all mine, but in the end I couldn’t justify the extra $50.  There may be a time here or there when I will be inconvenienced without the 3G, but I’ll live with it.

I hope everyone else had a wonderful holiday as well!

23 Responses

  1. Glad to see you pop up in my reader! 🙂 And I’m happy you had a great Christmas. I’ve considered reading that Divergent novel, but I figure I should wait until I’m less burned out on dystopias and YA in general.

  2. I do need to pick up Divergent. I just read Wither and was disappointed with it so maybe I should give this one a whirl. I loved The Devil in the White Ctiy; did you know that it is going to be adapted into a film and apparently Leonardo DiCaprio is supposed to play the character of H.H. Holmes? It sounds fairly promising.

  3. I loved Devil in the White City, but I am very sad to say that I did NOT like his latest one about the US Ambassador in Nazi Germany. PAINS me to say it. I have not yet read Divergent either and I feel like I am probably missing something. *sigh* Such is my life. Congrats on the Kindle. Life is good!

  4. Merry belated Christmas! 🙂 Glad to hear you had a wonderful holiday.

  5. Divergent has been on my to-read list for a while. I need to read that book. I hope you are liking your new Kindle!

  6. My son surprised me with a new Fire. Not sure how I feel about the color screen yet. I hope you enjoy your new Kindle. Glad to hear you had a nice holiday!

  7. I have an original Kindle and still love mine. I have an Ipad and Nook Color at work for the times I want a backlight or color screens. The Kindle seems easier on my eyes too. Glad you had a great holiday!! 🙂

  8. I still don’t have an ereader. I think I’m too spoiled by my iPad. Everything looks kind of cheap next to it and so I always talk myself out of buying one. Strangely, I hardly ever read on the iPad though which is why I have thought about getting a reader. I love that you aren’t totally sure why you chose the one you did. 🙂

  9. I love my wi-fi Kindle. Hope u do as well. Glad u r back/

  10. eReaders are the gift that keeps giving. Congrats! Someday I shall read Delirium and Divergent…

  11. It’s good to hear from you again! Hooray for a great Christmas and a new Kindle. I got an ereader as well, my first, and it was a complete surprise. It pretty much made my Christmas 😀

  12. Glad you had a wonderful Christmas! Enjoy your new Kindle. For some reason, I’ve been avoiding Divergent, too, even though I’ve heard such good things about it. My husband is reading it off and on and seems to be enjoying it.

  13. Oh, the Kindle was such a nice gift for the holiday! It sounds like you had a great one too, what with all the family time and the eating! I do have a copy of Divergent and will have to get started with it soon. It is showing up on so many best of the year lists, and I don’t think I can ignore it anymore! Glad to see you back, my friend!

  14. I loved Divergent and hadn’t heard of Delirium
    so will put that on my wish list, it sounds great, and might even let my daughters, who are far closer to being YA’s than I am, read it after me.

  15. I think everyone’s reading takes a hit this time of year. I’m glad to hear you had a wonderful holiday. I buy a lot of my own presents too. Happy New Year!

  16. I’m glad to hear you had a nice Christmas. I also got a kindle 🙂

  17. Glad you’re still alive. 😉 Happy new year Steph.

  18. I’ll have to read Divergent–YA post-apocalyptic/dystopic fantasy is so up my alley it’s not even funny. I’m also glad to hear that Delirium has a sequel because while I suspected it might (and was too lazy to look it up) I was kind of like “WTF this book just ENDED and in a crappy way!”. I really enjoyed Delirium although I kicked myself for not predicting the self sacrifice part and I thought it dwelt too long on being in love. I guess that’s the part that makes it more YA because I think as a teenager I would have been all moony about HOW REAL THEIR LOVE IS and instead I was like “come on! overthrow the government! Stop picking flowers and acting stupid!”

    Still reading American Wife and having mixed feelings about it. The George W character feels so realistic and the Laura character seems uneven to me. Also, having read this and Prep I have to think that Curtis Sittenfield was a depressed teenager who did some sleeping around while essentially detached from life because it seems like THAT IS ALL HER CHARACTERS DO.

    This year I want to track my reading better–being on maternity leave will either really slow down my reading or give it a big boost. Right now I’ve been reading a bunch of books on natural childbirth and breastfeeding, so nothing to really right home about (although if you want to read about hippies giving birth, Ina May Gaskin is a GREAT place to start).

    Hopefully one of these days I’ll get on the ball and be able to recommend some books you’ll like!

    Oh, and lastly I also loved Devil in the White City although I read it on the way to Chicago to visit my sister and then Lindsay wouldn’t take me ANYWHERE that had to do with the World’s Fair and I was super pissed. A less gruesome but also involving death national book award winner you might like is Kevin Boyle’s Arc of Justice.

    -Morgan

  19. Oooh, lucky! I’ve been eyeing the Nook Touch for about a month now. I’m dying to upgrade my first gen nook.

  20. What a lucky girl getting that new Kindle! I’ve been putting off getting an ereader but I’m really starting to see the advantage to having one and I’m starting to get e-envy!

  21. Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

