Book Review: 101 Things You Thought You Knew About the Titanic . . . But Didn’t!

101 Things You Thought You Knew About the Titanic . . . But Didn’t!

Tim Maltin, with Eloise Aston

Penguin

320 pages

I’ll admit, I have a morbid fascination with the Titanic.  The opulence and high society of that era are intriguing, then add to that the devastation and tragedy that occurred that night and it becomes extremely compelling.  So I was thrilled to find this title available on Netgalley.

The format of 101 Things is a chronological grouping of  facts.  Maltin starts off by exposing a common “fact” about the Titanic and then either affirms or discounts it.  He starts off with the building of the ship all the way through to the fateful collision with the iceberg and what happened afterward.  I thought I would share with everyone some of the most shocking and/or interesting tidbits that I discovered through this book.

-Third class passengers were not locked in steerage.  They had just as much of a chance of getting on a lifeboat as the first class passengers, as long as they were children and women of course!

-It probably would not have made much of a difference if there were more lifeboats.  The last lifeboat was released just before the ship was sinking, so it took an entire hour and a half to fill the lifeboats, even at half capacity.

-Bruce Ismay, the president of White Star Lines was vilified for living through the sinking.  However, he only escaped on the very last lifeboat.  Up until that point, he assisted with the evacuation efforts.  He was severely humbled by the tragedy and spent the majority of his life practically in hiding.

-Most of the deaths were actually a result of hypothermia, NOT drowning.  After 15 minutes in such cold water, you would become unconscious and death would usually occur within 45 minutes.

I found 101 Things completely engrossing. With the 100th anniversary of the sinking coming up, I am keeping my fingers grossed for some other great books about the Titanic.

Other Reviews:

None that I could find.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley.

16 Responses

  1. I also have a morbid fascination with it (my favorite movie growing up was A Night To Remember) so I would probably love this!

  2. It sounds like an interesting books.
    “-It probably would not have made much of a difference if there were more lifeboats. The last lifeboat was released just before the ship was sinking, so it took an entire hour and a half to fill the lifeboats, even at half capacity.”

    I had thought about this too. It was fortunate that the sea was so calm, as well. Causalities, no doubt, would have been higher.

  3. Whoah if those facts are an indication of the others I would love this book too!

  4. You’ll be happy next year – Titanic books are going to be huge!

  5. I’ve always been interested in the Titanic too. Thanks for the review.
    Ann

  6. Just looked this whole thing up on Wikipedia, and found out that the wife of the Captain (of Titanic) actually divorced him because of the scandal. Whoa. This book looks really interesting.

  7. My daughter would love this book! She has seen the movie Titanic so many times that she knows the dialogue by heart, and she loves to read about this subject. I will have to see if I can grab this one for her for Christmas! Great review today!

  8. Did you hear that they are releasing Titanic in the movie theaters again next year? I saw the preview when I went to see a movie last weekend. It would be interesting to read this book and then go see it again. Thanks for sharing some of the facts you learned … they were totally interesting.

  9. I loved the movie but stuff about the Titanic usually scares me, lol! These facts do sound interesting though!

  10. My son had a huge fascination with the Titanic growing up. I am thinking he would love this book!

  11. […] here: Book Review: 101 Things You Thought You Knew About the Titanic … Posted in The Titanic, Uncategorized Tags: archives, bermuda, book, books, christmas, facebook, […]

  12. Wow, interesting! The Titanic definitely is a fascinating tragedy.

  13. I also have a morbid fascination with the Titanic, I think a lot of people do, as you said its the mixture of the granduer and the tragedy. This book sounds really interesting.

  14. Okay, I eyed this one NetGalley, but I am terrible with reading lately. I really would have liked to have read it. I will have to wait until it is released!

  15. I remember when they found it on the bottom of the ocean. I was interested, too. Did you ever have that PC game Titanic: Adventure Out of Time? It was fan-freaking-tastic! I read A Night to Remember, but I never saw the movie.

Leave a Reply

