Sunday Salon: 11/13/11

I know Sunday is drawing to a close, so I am a little late, but better late than never.  I worked earlier today so I am just unwinding.  I’ve got some spaghetti and meatballs going right now, and after dinner I just plan to relax and get some reading done.

First off, I have some administrative stuff to take care of.  Namely, the winner fo Cloyne Court.

Congrats Aths from Reading on a Rainy Day!

Please e-mail me your contact info so I can have the book mailed out to you.

So, Sarah Waters fans, I need your opinion.  I have read all of Waters’ books with the exception of The Night Watch.

I read the first 50 pages and just wasn’t wowed.  It seemed to move so slowly and I started to fear that it would be more like The Little Stranger, which I loathed. It was the only Waters book I didn’t love, let alone like.  I am starting to wonder if maybe she should just stick to the Victorian era, which she does so well.  So here’s my question . . . do I stick with The Night Watch or should I admit defeat and move on?

21 Responses

  1. I haven’t read anything by this author….now I’ll be curious about the responses you get to your question about The Night Watch.

    Your day sounds good…especially the part about spaghetti and meatballs, followed by reading!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  2. The only Waters book I’ve ever read was Affinity…and I hated it. I stuck it out with Affinity, hoping that it would get better…and it just never did. I don’t know whether to give anything else of hers a chance…most bloggers I read seemed to enjoy The Little Stranger and Fingersmith the best…interesting that you didn’t like The Little Stranger. If you’ve read everything else by Waters, I guess I’d push through it. I, however, won’t push through another one. Which would you suggest I read to give her another go…obviously not this one?

    • I loved Affinity but only because of the ending. The first 2/3 of the book were a bit slow for me and I was afraid it would be another dud, much like The Little Stranger. Obviously the ending made a big impact on me! I would suggest trying Fingersmith or Tippnng the Velvet. If you don’t like either of those, then I would write Winters of for good!

  3. The Night Watch wasn’t my favorite but it does get better as it goes along. But certainly it doesn’t approach the wow-ness of Fingersmith!

  4. It wasn’t my favorite either, but I did really really enjoy it. It goes backwards in time, which is a unique way of telling the story. It is not Fingersmith…nothing is. But it has beautiful moments, and shows interesting perspective of the war. It lingered with me for weeks after I finished. Just don’t expect Fingersmith. I loved really everything she has written, just need to read Tipping the Velvet.

    • I was definitely intrigued by the idea that the novel goes backward and not forward! I hope you love Tipping the Velvet as much as I did. It is tied with Fingersmith for my favorite Waters novel. I am not so much afraid that The Night Watch won’t be as good as Fingersmith, but more afraid that I will dislike it as much as I did The Little Stranger!

  5. Oh, it is so interesting to hear that you liked everything you’ve read by Sarah Waters except The Little Stranger. I first read Tipping the Velvet, which I quite liked, and then I read The Little Stranger and greatly disliked it. I haven’t tried anything more by her because most book bloggers who like her seem to mention The Little Stranger as one of her great ones and I was starting to think she just wasn’t for me. But you give me hope that perhaps I will still enjoy some of her other books!

  6. Sadly the first book of Waters I ever picked up was The Little Stranger…and I wasn’t really wowed so I’ve not ventured to read any of her other books :-S

  7. I haven’t read any Sarah Waters books, but you pose an interesting question … When do we decide to read on or not? Given that you enjoyed so many of the author’s other books, I’d probably say to keep reading and see where she takes the story …

    • I agree with what you’re saying. With favorite authors, you should try and read their whole oeuvre even though there may be some duds. And I think I could come to appreciate The Night Watch if I give it more of a chance.

  8. Congratulations to your winner! I also think that you should try to stick it out with The Night Watch. I have heard that it gets really good, and leaves you with some deep impressions, so I would say, give it 50 more pages before abandoning it. Good luck with it! I want to read it at some point too!

  9. I don’t think that I’ve read anything by Sarah Waters yet!

  10. Noooooooooo…it’s not like The Little Stranger at all. But it’s not as spectacular as Fingersmith. Or even as good as Affinity. More like character studies. But I still rate it above The Little Stranger, although I’m probably the only person in the world that failed to be creeped out by that book.

    • I was too bored to be creeped out by The Little Stranger. I do appreciate a good character study though, so maybe I will learn to like The Night Watch, as long as I don’t go into it expecting to be wowed.

  11. I haven’t read any of her books and dislike books that drag. Maybe this author is not for me…

  12. Just getting around to agreeing with the other comments… not as good as Fingersmith, but still worth the read. I’d stick with it a little longer.

  13. Whoops! Just saw your post. Will send you the contact info, asap! Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  14. I’ve only read Fingersmith by Waters and enjoyed it. She seems to be so hit and miss with bloggers. I’ve heard so many RAVE about Little Strangers and then others HATE it. Maybe try Affinity? That’s the only other one I own by her (though I haven’t read it).

Leave a Reply

