Blog Tour: Practical Jean

Practical Jean

Trevor Cole

Harper Perennial

320 pages

Jean is a middle aged woman who has just lost her mother to cancer.  Her mother’s declining health took a toll on Jean, and she is unsure of how to go on with her life.  She had been living with her mother, so she attempts to get back into a routine once she moves back into the home she shares with her husband, Milt.  Then it clicks.  Jean realizes that she has a duty, and that duty is to ensure that her closest friends do not have to deal with the tragedy of aging and eventually dying.  So she decides to off them.

You may think that Jean has gone off her rocker, but she is extremely methodical in planning the deaths of her friends.  She is most interested in an old friend Cheryl, whom she hasn’t seen since high school, decades ago.  As the hunt for Cheryl is on its way, Jean has no choice but to focus on her other friends.

Practical Jean is one of the best satirical books I have ever read.  The humor was so dry it was like a fine dust.  I had a smirk on my face for the majority of the novel.  I have seen quite a few reviews that describe Jean as unlikeable.  Personally, I was more ambivalent towards her.  It’s not necessarily a character driven book, so in the end Jean’s character didn’t move me in one direction or the other.  Instead, I just enjoyed her reasoning process and the way she attempted to cover her crimes long enough to get through her list of friends.

The aspect I loved best about Practical Jean was that it was fresh.  I have not read anything like it in a long time!

About Trevor Cole

Trevor Cole has been hailed as “one of the best young novelists in the country” by Canada’s national newspaper, the Globe and Mail, for his books Norman Bray in the Performance of His Life, The Fearsome Particles, and Practical Jean. He lives near Toronto.

Visit Trevor at his website and follow him on Twitter.

Trevor’s Tour Stop

Tuesday, October 18th: Unabridged Chick

Wednesday, October 19th: Life in Review

Monday, October 24th: The Lost Entwife

Tuesday, October 25th: The Lit Witch

Wednesday, October 26th: girlichef

Thursday, October 27th: That’s What She Read

Monday, October 31st: Books Like Breathing

Tuesday, November 1st: Wordsmithonia

Wednesday, November 2nd: In the Next Room

Thursday, November 3rd: Cafe of Dreams

Friday, November 4th: StephTheBookworm

Monday, November 7th: Reviews by Lola

13 Responses

  1. This sounds like great fun. I love books with unexpected plots like this. Thanks for the great review!

  2. I agree, this one does sound like a fun read. I’ll have to keep this one in mind, and add it to my wish list.

  3. I can’t wait to read this one! I heard about it on TLC and the idea of Jean killing her friends is just strangely morbidly fascinating. I just finished another book where the protagonist kills off a few people in his family and it was creepy.

  4. I have been wanting to read this one for some time now, and think that after reading your review I am going to go out an buy this one. It sounds like it was a really fun read, and since I love satire, I am really curious about how this one eventually turns out. Great review today! I will have to let you know what I think of it when I do get to it!

  5. This sounds like a really fun read!

  6. I love dry humor, so I’ll have to look for that book!

  7. I’m so glad you enjoyed this one as much as you did! I love this: “The humor was so dry it was like a fine dust.” It definitely gives me an excellent idea about the tone of this novel!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour. I’m featuring your review on TLC’s Facebook page today.

  8. This one sounds like lots of fun. I enjoy a satirical read once in a while. And so what if Jean wants to “off” her friends, I might still like her!

  9. I read about this one over at Unabridged Chick and thought it sounded like a lot of fun. I am always so jealous of those of you who manage to get these awesome gems on book tours! I have had the odd success here and there but by and large I’ve found the books mediocre at best.

    • I have definitely had a dud or two when it comes to tours, but in those cases I felt like it was more a problem with me and not necessarily the book, so I try to just be very careful about the tours I choose to participate in. I hope you start having better luck with tours!

  10. What an entertaining and fun book. I love dry humor. This book sounds so different and creative which is very exciting.

    Great review, thank you!

    (I hope you’re feeling better!)

  11. I love your line about the humor being dry like fine dust – that is perfect. This is an interesting premise for a book but I do like satire so I may check this one out.

Leave a Reply

