The Sunday Salon: 11/6/11

You may remember my post from just a few days ago about how sick I am.  Well, I’m still sick.  I had to work yesterday and today though, so I have been up and about.  No more resting in bed for me! To be honest, I was getting a bit sick of my bed anyway.

You may also remember that I was lamenting over my inability to focus on my reading during my convalescence too.  The main problem was The Marriage Plot.  Or actually I was the problem.  I just couldn’t be attentive to a more serious book, so after I wrote that post I decided to try a different approach and pick up a book that required a little bit less from me.  The book I settled on was Election, by Tom Perrotta.  It was perfect.  It kept my attention and was fast paced, plus it was pretty short.  It would be a great readathon selection! Once I finished it, I went back to The Marriage Plot, which I am now about half way through.  I hope to carve out some time later in the day to read a good portion of it.

As for the rest of my day, I will be doing a little bit of this and that.  Cleaning the house, going to the grocery.  I am especially excited about the latter because I forgot creamer a few days ago when I went shopping and have spent the last few days using regular, somewhat boring vanilla creamer that my husband bought from CVS.  I LOVE seasonal flavored creamers though (especially peppermint mocha, which is now year round.  woo hoo!)

So yes, I am excited to buy myself some creamer! I am dying to try gingerbread latte and warm cinnamon sugar cookie too! Which seasonal creamers are your favorites?

17 Responses

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only person to get excited by creamer. We have some Almond Joy in the house right now that makes me feel hip even though I don’t particularly like Almond Joy. 😀

    I’m doubtful I’ll try The Marriage Plot. I have a mental block when it comes to Eugenides, largely caused by The Virgin Suicides (not a fan).

    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

    • I bet I would like an Almond Joy creamer. Have you seen the movie version of The Virgin Suicides? It is one of my favorite movies ever and I had never even heard of Eugenides when I first saw it. I am not sure if my reaction to the book would have been different had I not seen the movie first.

  2. I’ve been sick for the last few days too; it’s so annoying! I didn’t get to take any full sick days, but did leave work early a few days during the week to come home and just chill out. I’m hoping a lazy Sunday at home will help be finally kick whatever this is.

    • I know, it’s a killer! I have gotten to the point where I am not really tired anymore but it is hard to work in retail when you have a bloodshot eye and you’re constantly coughing up a lung!

  3. Warm cinnamon sugar cookie sounds delicious and now I want to go to the store and buy myself some as well 🙂 I love creamer and coffee…something about it just makes the day better for me! I hope you start feeling better and have a great week!

  4. I miss creamer! I love the flavored stuff but as I can’t have that much caffeine (and the hubby doesn’t want to switch to decaf) I’ve been abstaining. 🙂 I hope you feel better soon.

  5. I like the flavored kind too, but can’t really have it because it has a lot of sugar in it, and I have diabetes. I have heard that they have sugar-free varieties, so that gets me a little excited! I will have to look out for them. I hope that you are back to 100% very soon!

  6. Perrotta is a great choice when you’re feeling sick … and Election is an easy fast read. Not my favorite by him but not a bad choice. Hope you feel 100% soon!

    • I have only read Election and The Abstinence Teacher. It’s kind of hard to compare the two because they’re so different, not to mention it has been awhile since I read the latter. I hope to read more Perrotta soon!

  7. That is a little distressing to hear about The Marriage Plot. I believe in Eugenides, but if you can’t stick with it when you are sick, I might not be able to stick with it when I am just being me (which is always distracted). I sure hope you start to feel better!

    • I love Eugenides and now that I have started to feel a little better I have been able to invest more time in the book. It has definitely drawn me in more so we’ll see how I feel once I finish it!

  8. I love Coffemate creamers! French vanilla is my favorite. I don’t usually try seasonal creamers but if they excite you this much, then I’ll give one or two of them a try! 😉 Feel better soon.

  9. I’m glad you included a picture because for a while there I had absolutely no idea what creamers was! I’m afraid I’m not a coffee girl, good old cup of tea for me 🙂

    I am really glad to hear your reading has taken back off again. Hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

