Blog Tour: Cloyne Court

Cloyne Court

Dodie Katague

Three Clover Press

328 pages

Derek has just started college at UC Berkley.  The year is 1977 and he is searching for freedom, so he moves out of his parent’s home and in to a campus co-op, Cloyne Court.  Touted to be a true live “Animal House”, Derek’s four years at Cloyne involve a lot of drugs, sex and nudity.  The showers are communal, the drugs are abundant, and everyone is living a free spirited lifestyle.

Derek is a little wet behind the ears when he is thrown into this new lifestyle.  He is a virgin and seems much more straitlaced than the people he is living with.  He soon falls in love with a woman named Katy, but problem is, she is already roomies with a man named Dan, who is also her boyfriend.  Derek borders on obsessive, and as Katy begins giving him mixed signals, he becomes even more enamored.

Then you have Alan, Derek’s roommate.  I pictured him as Alan from “The Hangover”.

He was probably my favorite character, possibly because I pictured him as that Alan! He acted as Derek’s wingman, and as goofy as he was, seemed to have a good idea of what was real.

I was unsure of whether or not to accept this book when it was pitched to me, only because I have had to become a lot pickier about what I accept.  I almost passed on it, and I am glad I decided to go for it.  I love anything sordid and salacious, so when I read the description, it sounded like something I would like.  Plus, my dad graduated high school in ’77, so the fact that he was the same age as Derek made it even more interesting to me.

Cloyne Court is labeled as a “creative memoir”, which I didn’t realize when I started the book. It actually was very confusing to me, so I had to do some research midway through the book.  I had thought it was a tried and true memoir, so I couldn’t understand why the main character was referred to as Derek when the author’s first name is Dodie.  I realized that while the book is based on true events gleaned from Katague’s diary and memories from that time period, it is actually a fictionalized account.  Once I figured that out, it got a lot less confusing.

I thought this was an entertaining look at a different era.  Cloyne Court, while still a student co-op, is no longer run by the students that live there, after the school forced them to hire a manger in 2005 in order to renew the lease.  I loved reading about a different generation.

I am offering a copy of this book to one of my readers, courtesy of the author.  If you are interested, please leave your email address in the comments section.  A winner will be chosen next week.  This is an international giveaway!

I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher in exchange for my participation in this tour.

6 Responses

  1. Would like to read this book. Thanks for the giveaway

  2. This book sounds very different than the last Europa one you read! I love the cover, though I don’t think this is a book I would read, really- I tend to avoid those that have a heavy drugs focus. But it sounds good! And ANY book that involves a Jack Galafinakis (or however you spell that) character is a winner 🙂

    • It’s actually not a Europa. It’s published by Three Clover Press, which I have not read before. The cover is interesting and very indicative of the way it was in the 70s, including the giant banana statue!

  3. So glad you enjoyed it! My college days in the early 80’s were a lot tamer. LOL!

  4. Even though most if not all of what happens did happen to Dodie or someone he knew at Cloyne, the author of Cloyne Court decided to change names and blend characters and then call the book fiction to avoid being sued, which makes sense, since he has practiced law for almost thirty years.

    The reason I know this was because I was in the writing group/workshop where Dodie wrote the first draft of Cloyne Court and enjoyed reading his creative memoir while often laughing at the comical scenes.

  5. I love the sound of this book. I’ve read a few set in the ‘coming-of-age’ college grounds and loved these atmospheric books, and this one too sounds like it’s been written really well. Thanks for the giveaway! I’d love to read it.

Leave a Reply

