Mailbox Monday: 10/31/2011

I got two books this week that I am really excited about!

The Marriage Plot, by Jeffrey Eugenides is a contest win from Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea. I won a contest on her blog where I was able to choose any book from Amazon that was under $20.  I was in luck because The Marriage Plot was on sale for $14! I definitely plan on reading this one soon. I have been so excited for this one and I hope to get to it within the next few weeks.

Out of Oz, by Gregory Maguire was sent to me unsolicited by William Morrow publishers.  I admit that I have never read any of Maguire’s books.  I heard great things about Wicked, so I did pick it up a few years ago, but after reading a few pages I was bored, so I didn’t finish it.  I am curious as to whether I can read this one as a stand alone or whether I better give Wicked another shot.  What do you think?

So that is what came into my house this week.  What about you?

18 Responses

  1. I have heard that Wicked was Maguire’s shining star, but then everything after that was not good at all. But I don’t know because hearing that scared me off. I love Eugenides though, and am hoping to listen to this one on audio.

  2. I’m really excited to read The Marriage plot. Happy reading!

  3. We’ve both got Out of Oz, and I think Marriage Plot sounds lovely.

  4. These two books are popular ones ! I hope you enjoy both books!

  5. Nice win from Diane. I hope you love the book!

  6. I enjoyed Wicked and Son of a Witch. Its been a while since I read them, but if memory serves, Son of a Witch didn’t require reading Wicked before hand, although it did help to tie things together. You might be ok reading this, though reading at least Wicked before hand will help

  7. Ooh, enjoy! I adored Wicked so I’d definitely say give it another shot.

  8. I am definitely intrigued by both of these books since I have read these authors before. Looking forward to your thoughts!

  9. oh the marriage plot does seem very popular hope you enjoy it ,all the best stu

  10. I’ve seen that there is a readalong for The Marriage Plot, but since I don’t own my own copy, and the one I checked out is due at the library soon I won’t be able to participate this time around. I received Out of Oz too. I haven’t read any of the series books, so I’m not sure when I’d have time for it.

  11. Ooooh, two big arrivals! Can’t wait to see what you think of The Marriage Plot!

  12. I listened to Wicked as an audiobook and I found it both very weird and very slow moving–I found the animal rights subplot and universe at large really interesting and the narrative not so interesting. I saw The Marriage Plot the other day and thought it looked good…

    Hmm, the vintage Babar books I bought for Sam are coming this week and my wedding album arrived, but that’s about it!

  13. I hope OUT OF OZ is good.

    Have you read any of other books before this one?

    THANKS for stopping by my blog.

    Elizabeth

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  14. Ooh, you picked a great looking book for your prize. I hope you love it!

  15. I’m still ueasy about reading anymore Maguire…I read Wicked and initially liked it but got half way through and there was way too much politics and information I didn’t really like 😦

  16. I hope you enjoy both of them. Not sure they are my cup of tea, so I’m looking forward to your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

