Book Review: I’m Not Her

I’m Not Her

Janet Gurtler

Sourcebook Fire

304 pages

Kristina is your typical blond, curvy bombshell.  Every guy wants to be with her and every girl wants to be her friend, so she is one of the most popular girls in school.  Tess is the baby sister.  She’s a high school freshman and the only thing occupying her is the prospect of being in the National Honor Society.  Kristina is doing her best though to break Tess out of her shell, and the book opens with Kristina dragging Tess to a high school party.  Tess is fed up of being in Kristina’s shadow, so instead she is content to fade into the background.  Because let’s face it, Kristina has it all . . . until she discovers she has bone cancer.

Kristina has an aggressive form of bone cancer, and doctors must act quickly in order to save her leg.  She is immediately admitted to the hospital to undergo chemotherapy, and instead of being the gorgeous girl around school, she becomes sick and starts losing her hair.  Suddenly, Tess is the one taking care of her sister, instead of the other way around, especially because their parent’s are having a hard time coping with Kristina’s cancer.  Tess is forced to reevaluate what is important to her, and she starts to question her friendships and priorities.

As is typical with YA, both girls had love interests, but Gurtler kept the reader questioning who liked whom and where relationships were going till the end, so that was an added element that kept my interest.  I’m still unsure of how I feel about the outcome of Tess’s boy drama, and all I can say in regards to Kristina is . . . wow.

Gurtler has definitely done it again.  Which I guess makes no sense because this is her first book! But I read her new book, If I Tell, a few weeks ago, and I was blown away, so I am glad this one was just as good, if not better!

Other Reviews:

Story Siren

Books, Movies and Chinese Food

I received a copy of this book from the published in exchange for an honest review.

11 Responses

  1. OMG, this sounds wonderful! Thanks for the great review – I have to get this! :–)

  2. This one sounds like a great read but emotional. Thanks for the review, I would like to give this one a try.

  3. I like the idea of unclear love interests. Usually they are so obvious in YA, so so obvious.

  4. OK…I’ll take your word for it. Not sure I’m up for a cancer book though.

  5. I just started a YA book that is going better than I expected but I know I have to pace them out. Glad you enjoyed it.

  6. I’m glad to see there’s some YA being written that takes on real life issues. This sounds good.

  7. This book sounds very engrossing! I’m not the biggest YA reader but I think I could go for this one.

  8. It is good to know there are books in the YA genre taking on these types of real issues in the lives of teens and young adults. Cancer is a thing they have to face on many fronts. I’m glad you read and reviewed this book. Great job!

    Deborah/TheBookishDame

    PS: Thanks for stopping by with a comment, too! :]

  9. This one sounds a bit like Lois Lowry’s book A Summer to Die? Are you familiar with it?

    • Yes! I am glad you posted that actually, because I remember the story vividly but the title and author alluded me! I loved that book when I was younger, despite how tragic it was.

  10. […] Story Siren, Reviews by Lola, Books, Movies and Chinese Food. Have you reviewed this book on your blog? Let me know and I’ll […]

Leave a Reply

