The Sunday Salon: 10/23/2011

I expect it to be a quiet day out in blogger land.  The readathon just ended.  I, however, just woke up! I knew it wasn’t feasible to read through the night, so I threw in the towel at midnight.  Some of you may remember I had 50 pages to go in my third book but wasn’t sure if I could make it.  I did!

Total time read: 9 hours, 46 minutes

Total pages read: 752

Books read: I’m Not Her, by Janet Gurtler, The Days of Abandonment, by Elena Ferrante and Hooked, by Catherine Greenman

End of Event Survey

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 15 when I wasn’t sure if I could finish the last 50 pages of my book before falling asleep.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? YA always does the trick for me!
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I always answer no to this question.  I like the readathon the way it is!
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I seemed to have a steady stream of cheerleaders, so that was nice.
  5. How many books did you read? 3
  6. What were the names of the books you read? Hooked, I’m Not Her and The Days of Abandonment
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? They were all good, but probably I’m Not Her.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? They were all great!
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? N/A
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I will always be a reader.  I try to participate in every readathon, but it just depends on the date!

I plan to spend the rest of today working and hanging out with my family.  Not sure if there will be any reading involved–I may need a break after yesterday! Fill me in on your stats from the ‘thon!

11 Responses

  1. I always find the readathons fun, but I never make it very late! I think my latest night was maybe 2:00am, but last night I crashed at midnight. I’m an old fogey! I didn’t touch my computer, I just tweeted, which reminds me, I don’t think I’m following you…

  2. I agree that if I ever did a readathon, I’d definitely go with YA!

  3. you did awesome! can’t wait to see your review of the ferrante! 🙂

  4. It sounds like you had a productive readathon! All my plans were tossed out the window when real life jumped up and got in my face. 🙂

  5. Nice job! I’m glad you were able to finish your book. I’m feeling too tired to read today too.

  6. Wow, you read a lot!

  7. Wow, you did great!! Sure hope I can participate in the spring.

  8. Woohoo! You did great! 3 books was my goal so I am a little jealous 😉

  9. That’s a lot of pages even if you didn’t stay up! Well done.

  10. Light reads are the key, aren’t they? I read a children’s book at night and it really held my attention much more than an adult book would have at that point. You did great! I am looking forward to the spring one!

  11. Wow, you did a great job! I’ve never done a readathon (except my own mini version!) because I always have other stuff going on. I’ll have to just do it! I hope I do as well as you did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

