Readathon Prep

It’s here, it’s here, the readathon is (almost) here! I am so excited guys.  I have been eagerly anticipating the readathon for the past few weeks and everything is falling in to place. I have tomorrow off of work and my husband is off too, so although it is our weekend with my stepdaughter, he will be home to entertain her so I can read.

The readathon starts at 9am here and that is usually around the time I wake up, so my plan is to get up as normal, make a big cup of coffee, and settle back down in bed with a good book.  I can guarantee I will not be reading for 24 straight hours.  It just won’t happen.  But I plan to spend all day tomorrow reading and blogging.

I now need to head off to the grocery store to stock up on snacks for tomorrow.  I will probably be a gluttonous lump by the time Sunday rolls around, but it will all be in good fun.  I leave you now with a picture of  my readathon stack!

First off, I have my kindle.  I am not sure what I will be reading off of it, but You Are My Only, by Beth Kephart is definitely on the top of my list of options. The Corn Maiden, by Joyce Carol Oates is also a viable option, because although I don’t normally read short stories, they do come in handy during the readathon!

Practical Jean, by Trevor Cole is part of my pile because I have a blog tour coming up for it at the start of next month!

Ditto for Cloyne Court, by Dodie Katague!

The Days of Abandonment, by Elena Ferrante is pretty short and promises to hold my attention.  Plus sometimes I need something a bit heavier during the readathon tol hold my attention.

I’m Not Her, by Janet Gurtler is part of my stack because I read her other book last week and though it was awesome.  Plus YA is an important part of the readathon diet.

An Abundance of Katherines, by John Green is another great YA addition.

The Truth Teller’s Lie, by Sophie Hannah was added to the pile because I have yet to read a book of hers that I didn’t enjoy.  And a good mystery is always a smart idea for the readathon.

Delirium, by Lauren Oliver is there because I have yet to read a bad review for it!

A Curtain Falls, by Stefanie Pintoff is the second book in a series and because it’s a mystery and the first book was really good, this addition was a no brainer.

So tell me which of these books you have read and whether or not they are good inclusions!

11 Responses

  1. I would love to participate in the readathon, but I will be traveling. Maybe next time.

  2. I’m Not Her sounds very good. I haven;t read Delirium but did enjoy Before I Fall by Lauren. Great lists of books. I still need to grab some drinks and maybe bake some cookies or brownies. Good luck tomorrow!

  3. I hope you have lots of fun this weekend!

  4. An Abundance of Katherines and Delirium are both great choices; I love YA for readathons!

  5. Delirium!!! Loved that book, and I have in my hot little hands the sequel. I won’t be reading it yet, because it doesn’t come out until the spring, and that is driving me crazy. That is a nice stack of books. I forgot about my Kindle. I need to see what things I have stashed there.

  6. YAY READATHON!! 🙂 I also have An Abundance of Katherines in my stack but think I’ll probably end up cheering most of the day instead of reading. So…I’ll be back tomorrow. 😉

    Enjoy!! And maybe you can convince stepdaughter to read with you? (ya, doesn’t work for my hubby either…)

  7. Short stories are great for breaking up the novels! Last year for the October Readathon, I had one of my Amphigorey books of graphic novel short stories and I read 2-3 between each book. It was perfect! 🙂

  8. My vote is for Delirium! And of course, You Are My Only as well 🙂 Have fun!

  9. Your stack looks amazing! I can’t wait to read your thoughts on the Beth Kephart. Happy reading!

  10. I haven’t read any of these but am sure thay are all good! Good luck with your reading!

  11. Great choices! I’m really excited, and we’ve only got half an hour to go!

    My list is here if you’re interested:
    http://theoncominghope.blogspot.com/2011/10/24-hour-readathon.html

Leave a Reply

