The Sunday Salon: 10/16/2011

Another Sunday.  I am a little shocked that October is already half way over.  I came to the sad realization that I probably won’t hit my goal of reading 100 books in 2011.  Last year I came close, coming in at 98 books by the time the clock hit midnight, but I realized a few days ago that at this time last year I was already ahead of where I am now by ten books.  That’s quite a lot! I had a major reading slump at the beginning of this year, where I stopped blogging for about three months.  Unfortunately, my lack of blogging did not equal extra time to read.  Instead, I read only a handful of books during those three months.  I just wasn’t in the mood.  So that seriously impacted the number of books I have read this year thus far.  At this point, I will continue to read when I want and what I want, and whatever that number equals at the end of the year, that’s ok!

Now, on to a specific book I have read this year–

I have had this one on my wish list for years, so when I saw it at B&N on clearance, it was a no brainer.  I bought it.  I read it. And for the first time since I have started blogging, I have absolutely nothing to say about a book once I have finished it.  Perrottet is a history nut and he endeavors to present the fun tidbits of history that are usually not discussed in a history class.  The title story refers to Napoleon Bonaparte and the rumor that a doctor stole his “privates” after his death and that the anatomy now resides in a suitcase under a bed in New Jersey.  I mean, how fun does this book sound?! But really, the only other chapter in the book that held my interest was the one that discussed Hitler’s excessive flatulance.

So while the idea behind this book was a great one, it failed miserably in its execution and I was glad when it was finally over.

I’m glad I finally got that book off my chest! Now, onto my plans for today.  Alas, I have to work this afternoon, so it’s doubtful that my day will include a lot of reading.  I hope a lot of you will get the chance to relax and read today though! Share your plans with me.

14 Responses

  1. This year was also much slower for me when it comes to reading. Between finishing grad school and going through several reading slumps, I am far behind where I was at this time last year. Hopefully 2012 will be better for both of us!

  2. I had set 150 as my goal for this year, but after my serious blogging hiatus, I’m thinking it’s not going to happen. Ah well, what can we do? 🙂

    And I totally would have picked up that book too! It stinks that it’s not as fun as the title promises.

  3. I didn’t have a specific goal for this year but I’ve read more books than at this time last year, so I’m happy with that. And I’m sorry to hear that book was so disappointing!

  4. I wanted to read100 books as well but the year got crazy and I am far from that goal! Maybe next year… Lol

  5. Ha! That book must have sold several copies based on the cover/title alone… sorry it was such a bust. I didn’t set any reading goals this year. They always make me feel bad when I fail to reach them. But I have really enjoyed the books I did read. Maybe I’ve finally learned to make better choices?

  6. It’s really not our fault for not having read as much as we would have liked. The reason, it seems to me, is that half the year went missing, or went at twice the regular speed, or something! Why else would Costco be putting out Christmas decorations when it seems like I just got done Christmas shopping for LAST year?!!!

  7. If I would have seen that book on the table, I would have bought it. How could you resist? So thank you for the warning. I guess goals are good, but people do get in funks, or they read 1,500 page books, and that changes things. As long as you are enjoying yourself (except with that last book – ha) then that is a good thing.

  8. I think we sometimes get hung up on that number of books read. Two years ago I read 118 books and was so disappointed that I didn’t hit 120. Then last year I couldn’t hit 100. This year I may not get to 80. But this year I’ve just had to realize that it’s less about a number and more about enjoying reading and not pushing just to get to a certain point. But there are so many books to be read out there – it does seem like if you’re not getting a hundred read a year, you’ll never get to everything you want to read, doesn’t it?!

  9. If you took three months off then it is amazing that you are only ten books behind where you were last year.

  10. Ugh, I hate it when potentially wonderful books fall flat! That’s too bad. As for stats, I’ve come to realize it’s more important what you read than how much. If I force myself to read to hit a certain number, I’m miserable!

    I’ve spent today watching football and catching up on reviews in preparation for the upcoming readathon.

  11. I am shocked that October is half over. I love October, so I am not ready for it to be over any time soon..

  12. I’m in shock that October is half over too. (And I just saw that I typed almost EXACTLY the same thing as the commenter before me. I swear I’m not copying her.) That stinks that a book you wanted to read was kind of meh. At least you got a bargain.

    And I’m not sure I’ll make 100 books this year. I made it last year but I was really pushing for it. This year I’m just seeing if I can.

  13. That is such a weird sounding book! Ugh, I wouldn’t have anything to talk about it either.

  14. Sadly, I don’t think I’ll be making my 100 books goal either. Too many BIG books in the line up this year.

Leave a Reply

