September Reading Wrap Up

 

It can’t be denied.  Fall has finally arrived.  That means my footie pajamas have come out of hiding and I am drinking copious amounts of coffee and chai lattes.  Candles are constantly burning and I am always wrapped in a cozy blanket.  So what does that mean for my reading? Well, it means that I am reading more.  I expected that to be reflected in my numbers this month, but it isn’t really.  Part of that is due to The Alienist, which took me ten days to read.

Here is what I read during September:

The Wordy Shipmates, by Sarah Vowell

The Alienist, by Caleb Carr

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs

The True Memoirs of Little K, by Adrienne Sharp

The Poison Tree, by Erin Kelly

Cold Kiss, by Amy Garvey

Napoleon’s Privates, by Tom Perrottet

Curtains, Tom Jokinen

Jumping off Swings, Jo Knowles

That’s a grand total of 9 books, plus one DNF (Waiting for Robert Capa).

I had a tie for my favorite book of the month.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As for my challenges, you may remember that I dropped pretty much every challenge earlier this year, but I am participating in two challenges at the moment.

Information for the Europa challenge can be found here. I chose to read 4 Europas by the end of 2011.  I don’t know if that will happen, because at this point I have only read one.  Plus, I am in such an RIP swing of things that I have been reading mostly books that fall under that category.  Maybe I should join the perpetual challenge . . .

RIP is my favorite challenge of the year.  Information for it can be found here. I have already surpassed the level I chose, which was 4 books.  So far, I have read 5 books for this challenge and I plan to keep going strong in October.  Plus, I plan to read The Lantern for Carl’s RIP readathon, so I am looking forward to that too.

How was September for you?

12 Responses

  1. You had a great month in books! I need to get hold of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. It sounds like a great October read.

  2. I love footie pajamas! Wish we had a need for them here in Tucson!

  3. You had a great book month! I’m so glad fall is here, too – my favorite time of year. 🙂 My daughter and I are reading Miss Peregrine’s Home… together – very creepy, in a good way.

  4. It’s actually been very hot here in England today, more like July than October! I’m sure that will change soon though. I hope you enjoy The Lantern – I’m not reading it for the readalong but hope to get to it eventually.

  5. You read a nice variety of books this month! I’m loving the same things about fall: cozy pajamas, fuzzy blankets, candles, tea, and (for me) knitting. Oh, and football! And the fall Readathon! I love this season.

    I had a good reading September. I was away for most of August and didn’t get as much reading done as I usually do, so it was nice to get back into the swing of things last month.

  6. We’re having a bit of a heat wave, which is normal for this time of year. But I’m ready for fall…especially the time change.

  7. Oooohhh footie pajamas. Those sound wonderful!

    I have both of your month favorites on my to-read list!

  8. I read The Poison Tree a few months ago and really enjoyed it too. I also bought myself a copy of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children yesterday as I though it would be a great October read (even though we’ve been having a heatwave in the UK – the summer we never had!).

  9. 😀 you should DEFINITELY join the Perpetual Europa challenge! 🙂 Also I think Massimo Carlotto’s thrillers would totally count for RIP so you could kill two birds with one stone! 🙂 And yes, chai lattes right here, please!

  10. I’m so jealous that you can actually wear footie pajamas right now! 🙂 It’s hot here some days and others quite cool. I can’t wait until fall is here to stay!

    So many bloggers have enjoyed Miss Peregrine’s that it might be time for me to add it to my tbr list.

    I hope this month goes well for you!

  11. I read 8 books in Sept which was a record for me in books/ month this year. Would you like me to send you a book pub’d by Europa? I’ve got Days of Abandonment sitting around with nothing to do…. Email me if you want it. 🙂

  12. I’m so intrigued by Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I’ve seen it on so many blogs, what a perfect read for the RIP VI!

Leave a Reply

