The Sunday Salon: 9/25/2011

So it is now officially fall.  I am half happy about that and half not. I love the fall weather but it just means winter is right around the corner and winter and I are not friends! I hate the cold, and don’t even get me started on the snow and ice.

The fall weather induced me to stop my housecleaning yesterday and snuggle on the couch to finish The Poison Tree, by Erin Kelly.  First off, it was amazing.  My cousin has been after me to read it for weeks and now I see why.  But anyway, I feel like this type of weather inclines me to read a lot more.  In the summer, I would rarely just pick up a book in the middle of the day and read for hours, but I find myself doing it a lot more now.  I am loving it.

My book club met this past Thursday to discuss Rules of Civility, by Amor Towles.

*spoilers*

As you may remember, I loved this book, so I recommended it to my book club.  As is always the case when I recommend a book, I was nervous that they would all hate it (ahem, The Elegance of the Hedgehog anyone?), but the response was overwhelmingly positive.  They really enjoyed the time period, as well as Katey’s story in general.  I seemed to be the only one who wasn’t a big fan of Katey.  One minor reason was the way she let Tinker go and failed to tell him her true feelings, but my fellow book clubbers did point out that she likely would have acted differently were it not for the accident.

At the same time, they really hung Tinker out to dry, where I sympathized with him more.  They were disgusted that he “whored” himself out to Ann, whereas I didn’t see it as quite that negative.  I am not sure why my reaction wasn’t of the same magnitude as theirs, because Tinker’s situation does sound like that of glorified prostitute, but while reading the book and being immersed in their lives, I just didn’t have that reaction.

*end of spoilers*

Next month I suggested we read something that goes along with Halloween, and the choice was made to read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson. I am really excited by the the selection, but also a little nervous because it is a longer book.  I hope they all love the series as much as I did!

As for today, I am reading some paranormal YA fiction, which is very different for me–Cold Kiss, by Amy Garvey.  I don’t know that I will get a ton of reading done, since I have to work later, but I am enjoying the change of pace and I am flying through it.  How do you plan on spending your Sunday?

15 Responses

  1. Seriously, I cannot believe I haven’t read The Poison Tree yet. I’ve had that book for over a year since I picked up an advanced copy at SIBA in Daytona Beach. Need to read it, perfect for the RIP Challenge!

  2. You are like me… fall isnt so terribly bad… I just dont like it because it is too close to my least favorite season of all…. winter.

  3. What is this snow and ice of which you speak? You should consider a move to California. 😀

  4. Yes, the looming winter is definitely a downside of fall. I’ll stay in a state of denial about that for as long as I possibly can…
    I really want to read Rules of Civility.

  5. I’m no winter person either, so at this point I’d say longer the autumn the better!

    Rules of Civility sounds interesting.

  6. I have been seeing this book around and I’m yet to check it out. I feel worried too when I recommend a book – what if someone didn’t like it? So, I’m glad that your choice was well-received!

  7. I usually really hate winter but summer was not fun this year either. Too hot for me. Can’t we just have spring and fall year round? I’m glad your group loved your book recommendation. I remember you being a bit apprehensive about it.

  8. One thing I love about fall is football, so I’ve spent my day watching! I still haven’t read the Stieg Larsson books…I’m just not sure they’re for me. I hope your book group loves The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo!

    • I thought the same thing about the Larsson books but I loved them, especially the second book. I’m not a big football fan but it is definitely very popular here, so I watch it a lot by default.

  9. I have heard that the Larsson books are compelling reads, but I have decided not to read them, at least for the near future, because of the subject matter. It’s not my normal reading, and I’ve heard it has some upsetting scenes.

  10. Sounds like you had a lovely weekend filled with plenty of reading! The Poison Tree is so eerie, it’s definitely perfect for chilly weather!

  11. Shh–don’t mention winter. The weather here has been so nice that I hate to think of really chilly days. I have The Poison Tree and really must get it read. I had to have it so bought it when it first came out in the UK and still haven’t gotten to it. I really liked The Rules of Civility, too. I liked Katey, and Tinker, too. I was disappointed that he was a kept man, so to speak, but it didn’t seem to matter for some reason. Maybe that’s why I didn’t mind so much that they didn’t get together in the end. I have yet to read the Larsson books–I think I must be one of the few people who hasn’t read them yet–I think it will certainly make a good discussion book!

Leave a Reply

