The Sunday Salon, 9/18/2011

Wow, what an awesome week.  BBAW is something I look forward to every year, and I had a great time blogging and chatting with other bloggers about what we love: reading and blogging! Because of the hoopla that comes along with BBAW, I chose not to post any reviews this week. I do, however, have two reviews coming up this week: The Alienist and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

I was so happy to make a small dent in my RIP stack and trust me, I could continue to read RIP books for the rest of the month.  However, I have some other reading obligations so the RIP books have gone by the wayside for the time being.  It’s a tad bit disappointing, only because the weather has finally turned to fall! I broke out my footie pajamas and the winter blanket for our bed.  Despite the fact that it keeps my house on the chilly side, we have had our windows open 24/7 for the past week.

I am pretty sure the weather has also increased my caffeine consumption as well.  I just got a Kuerig coffee maker and I can’t stop using it!! I got peppermint mocha creamer (omg!!) and tons of different flavors of coffee, plus chai latte pods too! I keep trying to exercise my self control and limit how much I am drinking but it doesn’t always work.

As we speak, I am curled up in bed watching What Not to Wear with a cup of coffee as I blog but later on today I need to go to work.  What are your plans for today? How have you been doing on the RIP challenge?

21 Responses

  1. Curled up in bed watching What Not to Wear sounds very nice! I get to go to a Lisa See reading at my local indie bookstore today so I am psyched!

  2. I love coffee too but have to limit myself to just a few cups a day. Looking forward to you book with the interesting title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

  3. I too am planning on reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, in fact it’s on my dining table now! Hopefully will get to it soon, definitely before it goes back to the library. I finished (and enjoyed) Before I go to Sleep for my bookclub which just so happened to fall wonderfully in line with RIP. I’m loving the comments from new people the challenge brings, and the new-to-me blogs I’m visiting as a result! Have a lovely Sunday!

  4. I love being able to open the windows. The house needs a good airing out after being basically closed up all summer. Even if it is a bit chilly I enjoy the fresh air!

  5. I have a Kuerig too – isn’t it the most fun? I get K cups from Amazon, by the way, which has, in my experience, the best prices. Another good place is Bed, Bath, and Beyond, because you can use those 20% off coupons on the K-cup boxes!

  6. I love my Keurig coffee maker! Have a great week.

  7. I am pretty crazy of coffee, but have never tried the Keurig coffee maker! I enjoyed BBAW too, and now am gettng ready to post reviews for the week!

  8. Did you say peppermint mocha creamer?? I don’t even use creamer, but I’d make an exception for that! I love my Keurig, too.

  9. It’s been feeling a lot like fall around here too — I’ve been in sweatshirts and under blankets all week. I’m excited about it, since summer was just so warm. I thought BBAW was a ton of fun too!

  10. I wish the weather would change here because it would be so nice to get in the fall mood! It’ll be sometime in October before I feel that at all
    😦 but I have a good RIP-type book to read that I never got to last year for the challenge so I look forward to that. I am sooo addicted to caffeine too! I would love a Keurig but I’m afraid it would cost too much to keep up with how much I would drink… but I agree peppermint mocha = yum!!

    • I got the Keurig because I was spending $4+ a day at Starbucks, so it is supposed to be saving me money. I am now drinking more coffee now though so I may end up just breaking even!

  11. I’m one of the few not doing the RIP challenge (scary books are not my thing). 🙂 I have noticed an upswing in my coffee/caffeine intake lately too. Coffee is so yummy – especially on cool fall days!

  12. mmm, peppermint mocha! That sounds good.

    I’ve broke out the fuzzy socks for the cool nights and mornings this week.

  13. I am glad you are enjoying the cooler weather. My weather is heating up again, summer’s last stand. 🙂 I wasn’t able to participate in BBAW but it sounds like everyone who did had fun. I hope you have a great week.

  14. I’ve finished two books for RIP but realize I better write my reviews or it will be February before I get them done and then it won’t be seasonally appropriate.

  15. I love BBAW! It’s so inspiring to me. Just have to keep the feeling going now 🙂

    Mmm, I like to keep the windows open when the first fall chill arrives, too. Nothing like curling up under a blanket to read with that nice crisp air coming in!

    Today I am visiting my parents, spending the day knitting and watching football. My husband and I don’t have TV, so this is a treat! I’m one of about two bloggers not participating in the RIP challenge, but I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone else is reading.

  16. I’ve never heard of What Not to Wear before, and I’m currently looking it up on YouTube. LOL. I couldn’t put The Alienist down when I read it last year, and I’m really looking forward to your review of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I’ve been eying it at the bookstore. 🙂

  17. Oh, those Keurig machines…I can imagine what would happen if I had one!

Leave a Reply

