RIP VI is here!!

The RIP challenge (hosted by Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings) is near and dear to my heart.  I will be the first to admit, I have lousy luck with challenges.  There are just not enough hours in the day to read all the books I would love to read, so often I have other obligations as far as my reading goes, ensuring that the challenge books fall by the wayside.  Either that, or I just lose interest.  There is one reading challenge that I always participate in though, and that is the RIP challenge.  Fall could be my favorite season of the year, and I love settling into the season by reading spooky books.

There are three basic levels to RIP VI and I am going for the highest one, Peril in the First.  I am obligating myself to read at least four books for this challenge, although let’s be honest–I usually read more than that because I am a glutton for spooky reads in the fall.

I have compiled by list for this year’s RIP, although this pile is not all inclusive.  I have some books on my kindle that I will probably include plus it is always possible I will acquire new books!

An Instance of the Fingerpost, Iain Pears: I have wanted to read something by Pears for awhile.  I found this one at a used booksale and picked it up.

The Angel of Darkness and The Alienist, Caleb Carr: I have heard great things about the latter, and it would probably be the one I would read first.

The Witch’s Trinity, Erika Mailman: I bought this one on clearance a few years back and figured it would be a great choice for the challenge.

Bad Things Happen, Harry Dolan: I have wanted to read this since it first came out and now the 2nd book in the series has been released!

Shadow of the Wind, Carlos Ruiz Zafron: It is time I read something by this author.  There is just no excuse!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs: I am so excited for this one!

The Poison Tree, Erin Kelly: My cousin just finished this one and loved it, so that definitely inspired me to add it to the pile.

A Discovery of Witches, Deborah Harkness: I don’t know much about this book, but I had it on my shelf and figured it would be a good inclusion.

Have you read any of the books on my list?!  If so, I am dying to know your thoughts! What books do you have on your list for this year’s RIP?

32 Responses

  1. omg! you have some good books here! I loved Shadow of the wind!! ..and Fingerpost too!… I have the Home for Peculiar Children on my RIP list too! I hope we both like it!

  2. I haven’t read any, but am curious about A Discovery of Witches. I think I heard of it when NPR gave it a good review a few months ago. I’ll look forward to hearing more about it.

    Happy reading!

  3. Have fun with the challenge!

  4. I haven’t read any of those but I do have An Instance of the Fingerpost on my shelf so I’d be interested to see your thoughts on it. I hope you enjoy RIP this year!

  5. A Discovery of Witches is perfect for this challenge! Great pick. Also love Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s work and The Angel’s Game is a great pick too. Have fun with the challenge!

  6. Whoops, I read that wrong, it’s Shadow of the Wind which, honestly, is even more perfect. 😀

  7. Shadow of the Wind is very good, quite dark and perfect for this challenge. I have Fingerpost but not read it yet. Good list… look forward to your reviews.

  8. A Discovery of Witches was a great read and I’m currently in the middle of Miss Peregrine’s and LOVING it! Happy reading!

  9. I so agree with you about this challenge – between the time of the year and the length of the challenge and the lax rules, it’s just perfect!!

    ps – I’m reading Tana French for RIP this year!

  10. I personally read enjoyed A Discovery of Witches. I hope you do, too!

  11. You have some great books on your list!

    Here is mine

  12. I do awful with challenges so I’m not even going to try, but I remember picking out books to read for this challenge before and loved doing that, lol. Shadow of the Wind is a great book for this challenge! Very full of atmosphere. I have Bad Things Happen and the sequel on my shelf! Need to get to them!!!

  13. Home for Peculiar Children looks good, doesn’t it? I’ll have to track down a copy for my RIP list.

  14. You have a pile of awesome books there. I read The Alienist last year, and I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning. I simply could NOT put it down. It was a great read with lots of historical information.

  15. Love that pile of books you have – the choice is endless and everyone’s lists offering something more. Maybe I should add Shadow of the Wind – it;s been on the TBR for ages.

  16. Great list! Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children definitely wins the award for most intriguing title, and I’ve also heard great things about The Alienist. Enjoy!

  17. I got The Alienist, totally fogot about it. That might be an option indeed but you got a few other tempting choices.

  18. Both of Carr’s books are wonderful, although I did prefer The Alienist overall. I just finished reading Miss Peregrine’s and was happy to learn there is a sequel in the works. Looks like you’ve got a good selection to work with for this challenge. Can’t wait to read your thoughts.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  19. I’ve always wanted to read Shadow of the Wind! Lol, I actually haven’t read any on your list, but they all look good. My friend, Uncoolghoul read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and really liked it though. Happy R.I.P. VI!

  20. I think this is going to be a fun challenge, too! I haven’t read any of the books on your list, although I do own Shadow of the Wind, but I didn’t even think of it when I was compiling my list. I’ve heard good things about Miss Peregrine’s Home…, too.

  21. You had a great month! Enjoy RIP VI, it’s one of my favorite challenges.

  22. That looks a really great list! A Discovery of Witches was *meant* to be on my list, but somehow it seems to have got left off. I enjoyed both The Alienist and Shadow of the Wind – not books I’d rave about exactly, but you can’t love everything and I think they are both great choices for RIP.

  23. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is on my list too. Shadow of the Wind has been on my bookshelf forever, I should probably add it to my list. Happy reading!

  24. You have some great books on there! It’s been a long time since I read The Instance of the Fingerpost but I think I liked it. I have yet to try Caleb Carr.

  25. I read The Alienist years ago and recall liking it but the story has since faded away. I also read the Zafon which was a slow starter for me, but once I got into it I enjoyed it. I want to read The Poison Tree as well though not sure when I’ll get to it! Enjoy your books–I always enjoy this challenge, too!

  26. First of all, I am so excited you are doing this challenge, too! It’s my favorite one each year. I am also reading Miss Peregrine for the challenge. I read A Discovery of Witches and The Shadow of the Wind and liked them both, and they are both perfect for the challenge.

  27. I just found this challenge (I know, where have I been!?). I started The Lantern this week, and now I have to make a choice of a second book. A lot of people liked Discovery of Witches so that’s a possibility.

  28. That’s a great list. I loved Shadow of The Wind and Fingerpost, and I have Discovery of Witches lined up too. I’m hoping to meet Miss Peregrine too, if I can get hold of a copy.

  29. I loved A Discovery of Witches and The Shadow of the Wind. The Witch’s Trinity and Miss Peregrine’s Home…. are on my TBR list.

    I keep seeing others doing this challenge. Might be something to try, looks right up my alley.

  30. Oh I LOVE The Shadow of the Wind I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! 🙂

  31. I would really like to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I’ll have to add that one to my growing list for RIP. BTW, I love your wallpaper!

Leave a Reply

