The Sunday Salon: 08/07/11

Another Sunday.  They seem to roll around quicker and quicker.  I have to work today, so that’s really all my plans consist of.  Maybe I will get some reading done later tonight, maybe not.

I recently got some new books, so I thought I would go ahead and share.

The top book, In Search of the Rose Notes, was sent to me by the publisher to participate in a tour for TLC.  I am actually planning on starting it today, and I am really looking forward to it.

The next two books I purchased from Barnes & Noble the other night.  My husband and I went to the local shopping center to get take out and we spent some time browsing.  Napoleon”s Privates is a book I have had my eye on for a few years, so when I saw it on the bargain shelves, I snagged it ASAP.  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children piqued my interest straight away.  The incorporation of vintage pictures, coupled with the cover and the storyline have me convinced I will love this one.

Lastly, I picked up some books at Borders.  They were 30%, plus I took advantage of my Borders Reward card, since it ceases to be of any value today, which gave me an extra 10%. Call me dense, but I had no idea that Alice I Have Been and The Autobiography of Tom Thumb were written by the same author! The former has been on my wishlist since it came out because tons of bloggers wrote very positive reviews.  The latter was just published and from the very first review I saw of it, I knew I had to read it.  My expectations are sky high!

Have you read any of the books I got? Please spill it and let me know your thoughts!

10 Responses

  1. What a great haul of books! I have Miss Peregrine on my shelves, and I’m really excited to read that one too. I like that sort of image-text integration. Plus it just looks so wonderfully creepy.

  2. I haven’t read any of those, but I’ve been coveting Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

  3. I saw a blurb about the Rose Notes recently and it does sound great. Hope you enjoy it and I’ll be looking forward to your review.

  4. Lots of great sounding new books – enjoy. In Search of Rose Notes sounds good.

  5. Miss Peregrine sounds really good. Happy reading!

  6. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children looks good to me too. It looks like Borders still has some good books left. Enjoy all of your new books.

  7. I just got Miss Peregrine – my daughter and I are going to read it together – we both love creepy books!

    I just LOVED Alice I Have Been on audio recently -and will be listening to Mrs. Tom Thumb very soon. So excited about this author’s work!

  8. Miss Peregrine has really piqued my interest in other people’s reviews, too! I hope I can get my hands on it soon. It sounds so deliciously spooky but not scary.

  9. No, I am familiar with all of your books, but I haven’t read a single one. Can’t wait to see what you think!

  10. You already know my thoughts on In Search of the Rose Notes, but I also have Melanie Benjamin’s books to read. I met Melanie in June 2010 and fell in love with her. I, unfortunately, have not gotten around to reading Alice yet. Mrs. Tom Thumb looks so awesome though!

Leave a Reply

