July Monthly Wrap Up

The end of another month . . . where does the time go? Although I am a bit sick of the unbearable heat, it will be winter soon enough, and that is scary! Ally goes back to school in two days, not to mention that she’ll be in SIXTH grade.  It’s a bit shocking, really.  But anyway, enough rambling.

July was an ok month for me.  I read a total of 7 books, which isn’t great but it could be worse.  Overall, I can’t complain.  The following books are what I finished over the course of the month.

Christine Falls, Benjamin Black

Wishing for Snow, Minrose Gwinn

The Kid, Sapphire

The Book Thief, Markus Zusak

Before I Go to Sleep, SJ Watson

The Book of Lies,  Mary Horlock

Rules of Civility, Amor Towles

Five of the seven books were for review, either via TLC Book Tours or Netgalley.  That is a pretty high number for me, but I am definitely not complaining because I enjoyed them all.

I don’t have any concrete plans for August. I would like to amp up my reading amount a bit, as my goal for the year is to read 100 books and I am just over half that.  It is time to play catch up!

Earlier in July, I decided to forgo all the reading challenges I had previously committed to, and that has made my reading a lot more relaxed.  The only challenge I plan on working on is the Europa challenge, but even so it is very low pressure and I’m not beating myself up over it if I don’t finish.

Does anyone have any super exciting plans for August?

3 Responses

  1. Challenges are really fun, but sometimes pressure-filled. I am glad you felt comfortable in letting them all go. My daughter starts 6th grade this year as well, where has the time gone?!

  2. The year is definitely going by much too quickly. It looks like July was a good month to me.

  3. I’m way over the super hot summers. It’s driving me nuts! Looks like a great reading month — I hope you liked The Book Thief!

Leave a Reply

