The Sunday Salon: 7/31/2011

Once again, I wasn’t sure whether I would even post a Sunday Salon today, but I obviously decided to go ahead and write something up. I am really irritated at this point because I have been trying to catch up on my Google Reader this morning but every time I attempt to post on a self hosted blog, my comment doesn’t show.  I have no idea what the problem is, and I finally gave up on my reader in frustration.  Is anyone else having a similar problem.  Do you have any idea what my problem could be? I restarted my computer to no avail.  Unfortunately, I am severely technologically impaired, as is my husband, so I have no clue how to fix it.

To add insult to injury, I have had a pretty bad headache since I woke up. A coffee and Tylenol have really done nothing to help, so I think I need a steaming hot bath with my current book, Rules of Civility, by Amor Towles.  I am really enjoying it–I read almost 100 pages on Friday night when I first picked it up, but unfortunately I didn’t get a good chance to read yesterday.

Lastly, I have been trying to get onboard with Twitter again.  I’ll admit that I have never been able to get the hang of Twitter.  Everything goes so fast, I never feel like I can keep up.  I am hoping I will be able to give it a good faith effort though, and maybe this time around it won’t be so awkward.  Does anyone else feel the same way I do.  I guess I just don’t “get” Twitter, but at the same time I appreciate what a great tool it is as far as connecting with other bloggers.

I hope everyone has a great Sunday.  Hopefully it involves a good book!

8 Responses

  1. I really struggled with Twitter at first as well. Because it does move fast and I can’t only get on for so long and at certain times…but I do like that I’ve been able to connect with even more bloggers. Hope you feel better and have a great week!

  2. Which blogs are giving you trouble? WordPress.com seems to be acting up today. I’m crossing my fingers this comment will post. It took forever for your blog to load, and I can’t get Jane Austen’s World to load right now.

    Twitter is weird. It is what you make it and get out of it, I guess. I scratched my head over it for a year before I decided to just try it. Now I’m hooked on it.

    • It’s only the self hosted blogs that are giving me trouble right now. It’s really strange. I tried posting from my ipad too and it still wasn’t working. Very frustrating!

  3. My comments always disappear on some of the WordPress blogs. I think they are going to spam… will have to investigate further and see if it is just the self hosted blogs.

    It took me a while to figure out twitter. Still not as active as many others, but it is a great way to get to know other bloggers.

  4. I loved that book. So glad that you are enjoying it so far. I would just hop on and of twitter as time allows, otherwise it’s a real time drain. Good luck.

  5. In general, that means your comment has gone for moderation – the blogs haven’t remembered you as approved (it should send you right back to the post without your comment). Your comments should be rescued once the blog owners check. I’m not sure how that is determined, although it’s likely through IP address. Is it possible that yours has changed and all the blogs have temporarily forgotten you?

    I like Twitter and was really into it for a good few months. It’s awesome for conversations. Unfortunately I struggle to find the time these days, but I still try to pop on every so often.

Leave a Reply

