Book Review: Before I Go to Sleep

Before I Go to Sleep

SJ Watson

Harper

368 pages

Christine Lucas seems to be your normal, everyday middle aged woman, albeit with one major issue. Once she goes to sleep at night, she can’t remember anything.  She generally wakes up every morning thinking she is a young woman, only to discover she is in fact married and a good twenty years older than she expected. She has absolutely no memory of her husband Ben and their life together, so he has to painstakingly recreate their lives for her every morning.

The reader becomes aware pretty quickly that all is not right with the situation.  Christine is secretly seeing a doctor behind Ben’s back, because he doesn’t want her to have treatment.  Every day the doctor has to call Christine and tell her that she has a journal and where she has hidden it.  Christine slowly begins to build up her memories by diligently writing down the events of every day and what she has learned about her past life.  She slowly becomes aware that she can’t trust Ben, that he has been keeping secrets from her.

I admit that Before I Go to Sleep was a little painful at first.  The fact that Christine woke up every morning not knowing who she was or where she was grated on me a little bit.  Once I realized the story wouldn’t be repetitive, it got a little easier for me to swallow.

Overall I thought that Before I Go to Sleep was a wonderful psychological thriller. I had high expectations going into it, and I am glad to say those expectations were met. This is a great poolside read.  It will keep you engrossed throughout.

Other Reviews:

Leeswammes’ Book Blog

That’s What She Read

Linus’s Blanket

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley.

7 Responses

  1. I’ve been intrigued by this too. A lot of variations on this theme lately. You’re so right, that it’s easy to mess it up and have it just be irritating!

  2. This sounds like an interesting book. Glad to know the whole waking up and not remembering thing isn’t repetitive.

  3. I really liked this one and found the whole story intriguing and spooky

  4. I thought this book has a lot of potential, and a great debut; just didn’t quite live up to my expectation though, as I was expecting more of a thriller, than an adult fiction… here’s my review if you have interested: http://mentalfoodie.blogspot.com/2011/06/book-review-before-i-go-to-sleep-by-sj.html

  5. Sounds facinating butmore for me to recommend to friends who likw thrillers than risk it myself. Am finding that I am extremely picky when it comes to the thriller genre.

  6. I’ve heard good things about this book… It’s definitely on my wishlist! 🙂

  7. This sounds so good and creepy! Quite a lot like the movie Memento, but I’m sure it has its own set of twists! I’ve only read great things about this book so I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

Leave a Reply

