Another Haul . . .

Yes, you read that right.  I bought MORE books.  At this point, I am running out of space for all the books I keep bringing home.  I feel like I have a good excuse though; there was a book sale at the high school in my mom’s town and I have always looked forward to it, so how could I miss it? My mom and I got there this morning at the start of the sale, and it’s a good thing we did because it was already packed with tons of people rummaging through all the books.  Here is what I came away with–

An Instance of the Fingerpost, Iain Banks

The Angel of Darkness, Caleb Carr

The Shadow of the Wind, Carlos Ruiz Zafon

The Poison Tree, Erin Kelly

Maine, J Courtney Sullivan

The Book Theif, Markus Zusak

The Uncoupling, Meg Wolitzer

The Fates Will Find Their Way, Hannah Pittard

Let the Great World Spin, Colum McCann

The Last Child, John Hart

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett

The Eyre Affair, Jasper Fforde

The Shadow of Gotham, Stefanie Pintoff

Running with Scissors, Augusten Burroughs

Half Broken Horses, Jeannette Walls

Have you read any of these?  If so, what are your thoughts?

26 Responses

  1. I’ve read The Shadow of the Wind and The Eyre Affair, and they’re both excellent.

  2. Shadow of the Wind, The Uncoupling and The Book Thief are excellent acquisitions! Well done. 😀

  3. Shadow of the Wind was good, Running with Scissors I liked but many of my friends were too creeped out to enjoy it. I have Pillars of the Earth weighing down my TBR pile – will I ever read it? Not sure – it is awfully long!

    • Running with Scissors is one of my favorite books. I reread it yesterday after I bought myself a copy and I hadn’t remembered how explicit it was in parts! It definitely has the creep factor.

      I also have read Pillars of the Earth–that was the one book from the entire haul that was for my husband. The size is definitely a turn off but I did end up enjoying it. He has read the second book (yes, without reading the first! Although I understand they aren’t that related, plus he did watch the miniseries), World Without End, which I want to read as well but, again, the size is daunting!

  4. Amazing! I am very jealous of you! Shadow of the Wind was fantastic. I highly recommend it!

  5. Wahoo! The Book Thief! I vote for that one to be first on your list! 🙂

  6. The Eyre Affair is so much fun! I hope you like it. 🙂

  7. Running with Scissors made me fall in love with memoir – it’s about a dysfunctional family though and some things were just weird… but sometimes true life is stranger than fiction!

    Half Broke Horses- have you read The Glass Castle? If not, I suggest to read The Glass Castle first which is Jeanette Walls’ own memoir about her childhood. Half Broke Horses is about her grandma, and it provided some background about how Jeanette’s mum turned out the way she did (kinda, but not really). I wasn’t going to read Half because I am not interested in western stories… but i”m glad I did. Love her writing.

    • Yes, I did read The Glass Castle, which I loved! Honestly, Half Broke Horses didn’t interest me all that much, but my mom really liked it, especially because, like you said, it gives some insight as to why her mother behaved the way she did, so when I saw it laying on the table, I figured why not?

      • Definitely give Half Broke Horses a try – I waited for a long time before I read it. It didn’t interest me at all when it first came out. Finally I thought I’d give it a go to see if I really like Jeanette Walls as a writer (or whether it was just her amusing childhood that interested me.) Now I think I can say it’s her writing because I actually stayed up late to read this one just to find out what happened next. Still like Glass Castle a bit better. I hardly re-read books, but after finishing Half, I felt like re-reading Glass just to put the missing pieces together (e.g. I didn’t remember much about the grandmother mentioned in Glass since I read it a wile back). Here’s my Half review:

        http://mentalfoodie.blogspot.com/2011/01/book-review-half-broke-horses-true-life.html

  8. Fantastic haul … and you got one of my all-time favorite books — The Book Thief!!

  9. LOVED Let the Great World Spin!

  10. Amazing haul – loved Book Thief and Shadow of the Wind. Have Let The Great World Spin on the shelf, so… 😀

    Looking forward to your thoughts on the others as well… suspect it will add more to the to-read list.

  11. I’ve read a few of the books that you picked up: I didn’t much care for The Fates Will Have Their Way (it’s what prompted me to put my Indiespensible subscription on hold!), and I absolutely loathed Shadow of the Wind (at least it made for a funny review…). On the other hand, The Eyre Affair is great fun, and The Poison Tree is also a really good thriller, so those I highly recommend. I’ve also heard of several of the other books you picked up and even have some of them in my own TBR pile, so I guess we’ll see which of us gets to them first! All in all, a really impressive haul from a rummage sale!

  12. ‘The Shadow of the Wind’ and ‘The Eyre Affair’ are both fantastic reads. Be warned though, reading the Jasper Fforde will only lead to you buying even more books, as you’ll want to read the rest of the series right away!

  13. Wow, you did great! The Book Thief is one my all-time favorites. I liked Let the Great World Spin, but it took me a while to get into the story. Enjoy all your new books!

  14. A brilliant haul! How did you manage that? I recognise most of the authors (and loved their books) and I read some of the books that you got.

    Have fun reading those. Ideal for the summer!

  15. You scored some great books! My motto is you can never have too many books! Enjoy them all.

  16. I enjoyed Half Broke Horses, especially because WALLS. CAN. WRITE. and I had so many questions after Glass Castle.

    The Book Thief is in my few top books EVER.

  17. I LOVE Shadow of the Wind and The Book Thief. I didn’t much care for The Pillars of the Earth, but it seems like everyone else does!

  18. What a great haul! I’m reading The Eyre Affair right now and I’m loving it.

  19. Wow, what a pile of books! I have read Running with Sissors and found it pretty enjoyable. I’ve also read Pillars of the Earth which was very long, but quite good. Of the rest, quite a few that I’ve heard a lot about!

  20. I love The Shadow of the Wind!

  21. You did get quite a haul! Here is my list of your list and my brief (one or two words) thoughts:
    Shadow of the Wind – loved it!
    The Book Thief – loved it!
    The Last Child – loved it! (just finished it last week!)
    Let the Great World Spin – liked it
    I’m not a book blogger, but I enjoy reading your blog and a few others. Thanks! Nancy

  22. I’m a huge fan of Jasper Fforde and Caleb Carr. I think The Angel of Darkness is a sequel to The Alienist. Try that first if you can.

Leave a Reply

