Book Review: Song for Katya

Song for Katya

Kevin Stevens

Pocket Books

344 pages

Katya is a thirty something woman living in communist Russia during the 80s.  Her life, while not necessarily fulfilling, is comfortable.  Her husband is a higher up, and although they are newlyweds, Katya feels that she has secured a good future for herself and her two children.  Her whole worldview changes when she agrees to host thee tour of an American jazz band when they come to Russia while they perform.

One of the men in the band, Drew Fisher, immediately forms a bond with Katya.  He is only in Russia for three weeks, but it doesn’t take long for him to woo Katya, and the two form an unbreakable connection.  Unfortunately, the political climate in Russia at the time is tense, and the KGB is closely monitoring the relationship between Katya and Drew.  Drew is unused to such personal involvement by government agents, and his naivete convinces him that nothing can keep him apart from Katya.  The struggle between following your heart as external forces battle to keep you apart kept me completely engrossed by the end of the novel.

I had never heard of Kevin Stevens until my sister began dating his son, Christian.  My mom was very enthusiastic about the fact that Christian’s father is an author, and she ended up buying quite a few of his books to read while we were on vacation.  Christian was also on vacation with us, thus causing quite an uncomfortable situation had I not liked Song for Katya. Luckily, that concern was never validated, as I truly enjoyed this book, although I admit I was pretty merciless in teasing Christian about the one sex scene that was barely explicit.

On the flip side, Christian had also read the book, and while his recollection was a bit hazy, he was able to fill me in on some of the inspiration behind the book.  Apparently, his father had traveled to Russia a lot in the 80s and witnessed full well the heightened political tension of the time.  Not to mention his father also has a penchant for jazz music, which explained that portion of the story as well.

Unfortunately, I don’t believe that this book is that attainable in the US.  I am pretty sure my mom had to purchase the book from the UK Amazon site.  It’s a shame, because it’s a book that really resonated with me.

Other Reviews:

None that I could find.

I received a copy of this book from my mother.

Leave a Reply

