The Sunday Salon: 6/05/2011

Happy Sunday everyone! I know I have been kind of wishy washy with my Sunday Salon posts recently.  Sometimes I feel like writing them and sometimes I just don’t.  Instead of forcing myself to post a Salon, I decided to just skip it on the Sundays that don’t suit me.

This week I read three great books.  The first was Then We Came to the End, by Joshua Ferris.  It took me a little longer than I would have liked to finish it, but the ending really resonated with me and I can certainly understand why it was such a lauded book when it was first published.

I then read Flow: The Cultural Story of Menstruation, by Elissa Stein and Susan Kim.  I read a review for it last month on Care’s book blog and I thought it sounded really interesting.  That it was!  I have been sharing some tidbits with my co-workers and I have already had one ask to borrow it.

Lastly, I read To Full Term, by Darci Klein.  It’s a memoir by a woman that lost four babies before she gave birth to her second living child.  These past few months I have had two miscarriages, so I was looking for something I could connect with and that would also give me hope.  I read this book in one sitting, but I think it inspired more fear than hope. I am kind of thinking that maybe I shouldn’t have read it at all!

I hope everyone has a great week and enjoys the summery weather. I sure plan to!

3 Responses

  1. I am glad you found Flow valuable – It’s a cool book. our bookclub has passed it around to everyone now, I think.
    My heart goes out to you with high hopes for baby. HUGS

  2. I don’t think I could have read To Full Term while trying to get pregnant either. I’m sorry to hear about your miscarriages. It’s a difficult thing to go through and I’ll keep you in my thoughts.

  3. My current thoughts are to not force it if you’re not feeling it! Though I do love reading everyone’s Sunday Salon posts (even on Thursday). Have heard mixed things about Then We Came to the End–but it’s always nice to find a book that resonates with you!

Leave a Reply

